Friday, May. 20, 2005 @ 9:09 am
ramblings

As if the "I'm loving it" commercials weren't annoying enough, now this "fruit buzz" rigmarole. You mean, like when I hurl rotten cantaloupes at your head? Huh? Maybe the people who get the buzz are all of the unhealthy, obese (and not) Americans eating no vegetation, ever. (French fries don't count.) Must be a shock to the system.


From this month's Health magazine:

1 - Rank of Geminis among zodiac signs most likely to file accident claims with car insurance companies.
2 - Rank of Tauruses.
12 - Rank of Capricorns.

What the hell?


From CNN:

Senate Environment Committee Chairman James Inhofe estimated the cost of damages from militant environmental and animal rights supporters at more than $110 million in the past decade.

"Just like al Qaeda or any other terrorist movement, ELF and ALF cannot accomplish their goals without money, membership and the media," the Republican senator from Oklahoma said.

Yeah, because ELF and ALF are just like al Qaeda. I certainly don't condone their actions, but come on!


The other day I saw a truck with a bumper sticker that read "Enr0n H@lliburton '04"*. I thought, "Heh, he's trying to be funny"...until I saw the "Bu$h Ch3ney - 4 more years"* sticker on the back window. Now I'm not sure. Either way, I think he needs a foot in his ass.

*Without the symbols, of course.


From Free Will Astrology:

Gemini Horoscope for week of May 19, 2005

Having a wing-span of almost three feet, the ivory-billed woodpecker was a beauty that once thrived in the hardwood forests of the southern U.S. Native Americans believed the bird's ivory bill had magical powers. They used it as currency and made it into crowns worn by great warriors. Sadly, the species has been thought extinct since 1944, when the last of its kind disappeared. But a month ago, conservationists announced a great reversal of fortunes: Several ivory-bills have recently been spotted in the Arkansas woods. You should regard this as a metaphor for events unfolding in your own life, Gemini. Magic that you thought was gone forever is returning.

O.....K?


Not much to report. I'm trying to figure out how I will get everything I need to do done in the next three days. That includes cleaning house, laundry, bathing the stinking dog, ironing clothes, taking clothes to the consignment shop, watching at least one of the two N3tflix DVDs I've had for weeks, going shopping for a few needed clothing items, working out at some point, cleaning my car inside and out...my head may explode. No wonder I'm too tired to drink a few beers on the weekend once I shower at the end of a long day. I need to prioritize.

Still no word about my sister. I'm thinking of not contacting her mom to see just how long it will take for her to clue me in. Why? I don't know. Why not?

My violets are about to bloom. This makes me very happy. They were blooming when I bought them in January (I think), and have not bloomed since. It looked good, with plentiful and healthy green leaves, but nary a bloom. (Oh, jeebus, I said "nary.") We've seen many more violets at various stores, all blooming. I couldn't figure out what the problem was, and started using a few drops of blooming plant food every 2-3 days. And now, two new blooms are popping up. I hope I didn't just jinx it.


Reading: Tori Amos: Piece by Piece - with Ann Powers (only a few pages left)
Listening to: Dirty Man - Joss Stone


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh