Monday, Mar. 06, 2006 @ 5:06 pm
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy.

Leigh told me not to stress about the party, and that no one would be inspecting my stove for cleanliness. OK yeah, it's all me. I have this thing in my head about upholding my reputation as a cleaning fiend (and also as thin/fit girl) that happens around friends and family. I know it's irrational and that these people will love me anyway. I think part of it is from how critical my stepmother was (though she has made an effort not to be so). Part of it has to be my OCD tendencies.


A few years ago, there was a spat between me and J, who is VERY sensitive to criticism (or anything, for that matter). I'm a very honest/blunt person, and the two characteristics were like oil and water. As a result, I avoid her a lot of the time. I bite my tongue when I hear of something ridiculous she's done. I know, it's her life to live and I shouldn't judge. Sure, I realize that. It's not so much that as being expected to keep anything negative to myself to avoid hurting her wittle feelings. I'm now kind of taking the same approach with this as I do with criticizing meat eaters: You mess with the cat, you get the claws. I only refer to someone's dinner as 'carcass' if they first make fun of my Tofurkey. To apply that to this, I sent an invite to everyone with a smart ass remark about trying to be nice to J at the party since it's her birthday weekend. (It was a generally amusing/sarcastic email suggesting everyone bring lint rollers as well.) She replies with, oh, it's an effort? So I said, "No, but we plan to collaborate on a speradsheet of all your jobs and moves." Mild, but yeah. When she asks me where her gift is, I'll say, "My gift to you is letting you and your current boyfriend in my house. Aren't you still married?" (I said that at an xmas party previously. She was there with the same dude who'll be at this one.)

We're taking bets on what her new tattoo will be, also.


So far blogspot is in the lead.


I went to the consignment shop on Saturday. I took in the maximum 20 items (a week) and had more I had to leave at home. I bought a few things, but not more than I brought in. That's my goal, usually. I did buy another pair of jeans to add to the stacks I have. Hey, I had to. They fit so well that it will allow me to rid myself of some less desirably fitting jeans. I'll have to do that to make room.

I bought an orange shirt! I've been trying on orange shirts just to try it out since I heard Clinton on What Not To Wear say that blue-eyed blondes should be able to wear orange. Yeah, not so much. This one's more of a muted coral, though. Most orange hues look pukey on me. I obsess about the strangest things.


Reading: magazines - bitch and Herbivore
Listening to: Freddie's Dead - Curtis Mayfield


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh