Thursday, Feb. 20, 2003 @ 9:29 pm
tearing off scabs

Filo has a thing he does. Jeff says I started it when he was smaller. He will pick up one of his many toys and growl at you while pushing on you with the toy in his mouth. He gets loud sometimes, too. You'd think he meant it if you were just hearing it without seeing him. It cracks me up. It can be annoying while you're trying to eat dinner ot watch TV, though.

He seems to have Thor's "spirit," or something like that. Though I'll stop short of saying he's Thor reincarnated. He likes to lean on your legs wherever you're sitting. He loves grapes. He follows me around the house, especially if I'm home alone. He occasionally emits noxious fumes. He won't go outside if it's raining, and prefers to just hold it. He will not just sit/stand at his bowl and eat, he has to grab a bite and run back into the living room, afraid he might miss something. He makes this yawn/whine noise when he's bored, like when he thinks it's time for you to finally get out of bed and play with him. I know, many of these things are just things dogs do. And there are things different than Thor - like he has not (yet) shown any fear of thunder, and "he ain't no bloodhound." Bottom line, they are both wonderful in their own ways. At least I can make an effort to connect more with Filo than I did with Thor when he was a puppy.

unclebob's last two entries tore the scab off the wound from Thor's death just a little. He had to put his dog, Maggie to sleep. It was time. While Thor's situation was a little different, being a sudden and unexpected thing, I can still relate. Especially since Baby, my oldest, is approximately 12 years old. I hope I can make an unselfish decision for her, if it ever becomes necessary. I would want to end her suffering in exchange for the happiness she has given me through all these years.

(I was going to post new pictures of Filo and Baby, but I got irritated trying to install the software and drivers for my camera.)


I think the management and contractors involved in that project at work finally realize what I've been trying to tell them was right - the code is not the issue. After Friday's tense conference call, a meeting Monday, and a couple impromptu meetings since, we may be on the same page. If not, at least in the same chapter. Before, we were in totally different libraries. Enough with the analogies.

Because we're still in the preparatory part of this, I'm not that busy now. Well, I'm busy on and off. So, no overtime has been needed. Starting next week, that could change. Anyway, most of my other teammates are working on another project for which they are working long hours here and at home to meet a deadline. I feel like it's conspicuous for me to not be busy right now and leaving near my regular time of 3:30. Shit. There I go worrying about what others think. My boss knows the deal, so that's all that matters.




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh