Wednesday, Apr. 24, 2002 @ 7:59 pm
I hope he knows we love him

Jeff's dog, Thor, has died. He dropped him off at the vet Monday evening. He was neutered on Tuesday. In the afternoon, they told Jeff he was awake and doing fine. The vet said he was alert and "wagging his butt" that night before he left. Jeff was to pick him up first thing this morning. The vet calls at 7:00am to tell Jeff that when he got there, Thor was dead.

I don't understand. He had an enlarged prostate they said was caused by testosterone from his testicles, hence the neuter. Why? And why did they insist on keeping him another night if they were going to leave him alone, unmonitored, and in a cage? He was all alone and in a cage when he died. Did he know we were thinking of him? Did he know we would have taken him home if they'd have let us? Did he know we weren't leaving him there?

I insisted that this was a common procedure, no big deal. I should have looked into it more. What if he was misdiagnosed? His prostate could have been enlarged for other reasons, like a tumor. Dammit, I should have been more diligent.

Sure, I don't really care for dogs, and Thor got on my nerves and stank up the house sometimes. He was only about 8 or 9. That is not that old. He wasn't even acting like he was ill. He was eating, drinking, playing...

I got home around 3:40 and Jeff's truck was here. Uh oh. I open the door and the chairs we put on the couches to keep Thor off of them were back in the dining room. Oh, god. Thor's bag of dogfood was sitting by the door, and his bed was gone. Jeff had just got finished burying him behind the garage. Geez. He went to get him this morning and brought him back here. He then went to work until lunch and came home to bury him. He put a rose from the dozen he gave me Friday on his grave. To think of Jeff having to bring his dog home and bury him himself, and to see him crying... I can't even describe it. He even picked all of his toys up in the back yard. I asked him if he'd like to place some kind of marker out there. I also offered to get one of his pictures enlarged and framed. Leigh, can you help me? I may see about having the frame shop do a special frame with a plate beneath the picture with his name on it or something like that.

I wonder if my unexplained sadness last night was any indication of what was about to happen.


Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh