Friday, Apr. 26, 2002 @ 4:30 pm
day by day

In honor of Confederate Memorial Day, I'm making vegan soup, taking clothes to the consignment shop, cleaning house, doing laundry, and setting rose bush clippings to root. I mentioned my idea of planting something back by Thor's grave, and Jeff said he thought we could transplant some of the roses. That's a good idea. I went out there yesterday afternoon. It's strange, because it's not an area of the yard I've been to much. It's the back corner behind the garage. Jeff stuck one of the peach/pink roses back there Wednesday, and it still looked alive yesterday, which is also strange.

I had a really hard time at work yesterday. I was writing my diary entry, reading pet memorials online (big mistake), and I told one lady at work who is not an animal person, but asked me what was wrong. I just kept thinking of Thor in that cage alone, and how I didn't show him enough affection or attention. At least I'm not having uncontrollable crying jags now. I am saddened every time I look at where his bed was, or remember when walking in the dark that he's not there to trip over. I'm sure this is what Jeff's going through, times 100, and that makes me sad, too. I'm going to tell him tonight that even though I bitched about Thor all the time, that I loved him too. And that his death is hurting me. I'm not sure if I'll tell him about my day at work yesterday. I just want him to know without a doubt that I miss him and am not in any way glad he's gone. I think he knows, but I want to make sure.

------------------------------------

I'm doing better today, though I still think of Thor alone in his cage. I'm trying not to dwell on it, but it's hard. Was he in pain? Was he scared? I'll never know.

There are many reminders of him around here, despite Jeff having removed his bowls, bed, food, toys, etc. I saw a few muddy paw prints on the kitchen floor as I was mopping a few minutes ago. I had a brief inclination to leave them there and not erase evidence of his existence. Common sense (and an anal cleaning tendency) took over and I mopped them up. Every time I open the door and he's not there, then I look directly across the living room to where his bed was...it puts a lump in my throat, like the paw prints did.

I got the rose clippings started. Hopefully at least 2 of them will root and we can plant them by his grave. I'm looking at some photos of Thor from all the years to make a collage type thing out of them. I may also donate to the Atlanta Humane Society (where I used to volunteer) in his memory. Hell, I may even decide to resume volunteering. I don't know.

I'm wondering if Jeff will want another dog. I have a feeling he will, because he can't get the same kind of companionship from the cats that a dog can give him. Even I can admit that. I will not bring it up, though. I want to let him make the call when he is ready. I know we'll get another pit bull, if we get another dog at all. I'm not sure if he'll want a puppy or an adult. If and when he brings it up, I want to suggest adopting from the humane society. They get pit bulls occasionally. An adult will be easier to deal with, maybe. But, you don't know how they were raised. It's kind of like a used car. With Thor, we raised him to be the laid back, silly fucker that he was. With an adult, he could have been raised to be mean, or abused. You just can never know. I certainly don't want a dog that may snap because some asshole fought him or beat him, or left him chained outside. Then again, puppies are very destructive. Fuck, this is all speculative, anyway. I think I've rambled on enough.


Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh