Wednesday, Jul. 03, 2002 @ 5:53 pm
hate hate hate hate hate

There's not much going on. I decided that I hate hate hate hate hate being on call for work. July is my month. I see the number on caller ID and immediately get pissed and tense. I was in bed last night and about to turn off the TV and put my earplugs in. The phone rang and I knew. I knew before Jeff answered it in the living room. He brought the phone to me and I said, "Let me guess." I was able to log on and figure out what the problem was, but then saw a note on the job saying that it could be put on hold if it abended. So, I did. The lady who wrote the job is on leave today, so I took care of it myself this morning. Well, with the help of my office mate. I guess I should feel good that I was able to figure out what caused the abend without pulling out chunks of my hair (though Jeff came back there to offer to make me a drink). I thought last night that I'd almost be willing to take a pay cut or a demotion to not have to be on call. Almost.

Luckily, my team's jobs don't abend that much. The other team has calls nearly every night. I also have people who do not get annoyed if I need to call them for help or advice in the middle of the night. Also, I'm only on call in January and July (backup in Dec and June). They don't expect you to sit at home, either. I'm going out of town next weekend, and it's not a problem. There are usually no calls on the weekend, anyway. All the processing is done on week days after 7 pm when the system goes down. I just need to learn not to panic.

We're suppposed to go to Jeff's boss' house tomorrow for a party. It'll be all day and night, but I'm not sure when Jeff wants to go. He likes his boss and his family, but I'm sure he doesn't want to spend that much time there. They have a pool, but I don't think I'd be comfortable in a bathing suit in front of them. I'm barely comfortable in front of my family, and that's only because I'm the smallest person there besides my 12 year old niece. I'm also having to take some SmartDogs so I'll have something to eat. I may need to rethink that. I bet they'd be good grilled, but I don't want them grilled in the same spot a drippy burger was grilled. Hmmm. Maybe they'd let me put some foil down. That would be better, especially since those things don't take much time to cook. I'm so high maintenance. OK, not really - not in the emotional sense.

I need chocolate.


Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh