Monday, May. 13, 2002 @ 5:26 pm
Oh, yeah. I have a diary...

Man, how the time flies. I didn't realize it had been so long since my last entry. I've been so busy. I'll try to recap and hope I don't forget anything.

Let's see, I love my steam cleaner. I finally got to use it Friday and Saturday, and it kicks ass. I got the Shark Steam Blaster. It's the blue one with wheels. After researching all the cleaners on the market, I decided this one was the best. You don't have to carry it, you don't have to let it cool down before adding more water, and the steam lasts 30-45 minutes per tankful. Granted, my stove did not come as clean as the one on the infomercial, but some of that grime was there 5 years ago when we moved in. And besides, we'll be replacing that stove within the year anyway.

I cleaned the counters, stove, microwave, and toaster oven. My butt and legs are sore from so much squatting and standing back up. And then I drove for 4 hours round trip to B'ham Sunday. I hate all that driving. Compared to the drive to Charleston, though, this was nothing. I went to my brother's house, and we all went to lunch at Copper Grill, a steak and seafood place. I was able to order a pasta dish without the meat. It was pretty good, and I'm having leftovers today for lunch. I asked the waiter about the "vegetarian dish," and it did not sound appetizing. I'm not a typical vegetarian, since I do not like zuchini, onions, tomatoes, peppers, or rice pilaf. I opted to get the meatless pasta dish. At this point, my stepmother asks me, "Have you stopped eating meat?" I told her yes, and she made the "Well, whatever" face. She did it again later when I was talking about our trip to Charleston. She asked if I went to A.W. Shucks, a place we went to when she lived there. I said no, she asked where we went, and I said, "We went to some vegetarian restaurants." We did not go into the hows or whys. Oh, at some point Dad asked, "Christy, you don't want a steak?" "Nope." Then he glared at me incredulously for a moment. Either what I say to these people goes in one ear and out the other, or he thinks it's a phase like Jeff's mom does. I mean, I'm not getting all self-important or anything, but you'd think they'd remember something like that. I think when I visit them for a weekend this summer, I'll have to bring my own groceries. She'll probably get unnecessarily offended, but I don't care. It's not her choice. Besides, I will not take nutrition advice from an obese person who smokes after having a heart attack and eats chocolate chip cookies with peanut butter and diet coke. At least she didn't tell me I needed a haircut, though I obviously do.

I got the Thor collage done, and it looks really good. I was able to enlarge and adjust the color and/or brightness of some of the photos to make them all look uniform and fit into the different frame sizes. I got a couple of him playing - one of him with a basketball in his mouth (partially deflated), and one of him carrying a tree branch through the yard. There's even one of him as a puppy. I also framed a favorite photo to take to work. I'm okay most of the time. I did think of how he'd whimper and move his legs when dreaming, and got really sad about it again - that I'd never get to see him again. Jeff is still sad, of course, but especially when it thunders. That will always make us think of him.

I guess everything is falling into place for my reunion on Saturday. I have the pants, shoes, and a choice of 2 sparkly shirts. I went shopping again Friday, but couldn't find anything better. I still have to get my hair cut, redo my toenails (sparkly - will that be too much?), and get my eyebrows waxed. I have an appointment for a wax and hour massage on Friday. I cannot wait. I'm getting that cramp in my right shoulder again from sitting at the computer. I think Sherry and I are going to a sushi place before the reunion. She still eats seafood, but she tells me there's vegetarian stuff there. I don't know that much about it. I'm just hoping I don't get a huge zit (or more) before Saturday. I'm being extra vigilant with the Proactiv in preparation.

It kind of bothers me that I'm so concerned about what these people that I haven't seen in 10 years think about me. I guess I'm doing ok. I have a house, a happy marriage, a good job, and am still in single-digit clothing sizes (6). I know it's perverse, but Sherry and I are wondering who's gained weight, who has 6 kids, who's in jail, etc. Oh, well.




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh