Tuesday, May. 07, 2002 @ 2:11 pm
channeling Neil Diamond

Shopping is tiring work. Yeah, pity me. I went shopping again Sunday. I must have been in Clothestime (a.k.a, the store for 14 year old girls with no boobs or hips - so why was I there?) for over an hour. There were all of these "buy 1 get 1 free" and "buy 1 get 2 free" racks. I either had a hard time finding the free stuff, or finding my size in something. I gave up and rang up what I had. Seventy something dollars. Huh? Uh, no. Take this and this off. OK. They ended up bending the rules for me so I ended up with a skirt, sparkly shirt, and a casual shirt for $26. All black, of course. I now have a couple options for the reunion. One of the two sparkly shirts with either the skirt or the pants I got on my second trip to Marshall's in one weekend. Geez. I also found some dressy sandals at Famous Footwear. Love that place. So, Clothestime, Marshalls (again), Target (got a frame for the Thor collage), Payless, and Famous Footwear. I think I have shopper's foot, kinda like tennis elbow, right?

I had a dream Saturday night that Thor came back. It wasn't like he was never gone. I remember seeing him and going "Oh, my god! He's back!" I woke up sad. I didn't tell Jeff about it, of course. I did make/let him pick the pictures for the collage and which ones to enlarge. There was one in particular where I had caught a shot of him playing in the yard and he looks like he's smiling. Jeff said, "That's a happy puppy." He always called him puppy, even at 8 years old. Anyway, I remember a story a year or so ago about a family whose dog had some condition or disease. The vet wanted to do a new or experimental treatment on him that the family could not afford. They decided to put him to sleep. Instead of putting him to sleep, the vet decided to do the treatment. It worked. A few months later, they call the family to tell them. Man. That would be surreal. If I didn't already know that Thor was in the back yard...

I'm off today. Last night Leigh and I went to see Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds at the Tabernacle. We sat in about the same place on the balcony where we sat for Tenacious D, except luckily this time no assholes decided to stand and block everyone's view. There were a lot of smokers. This girl in front of us smoked 6 cigarettes while we were there. Every time she lit one, either Leigh or I would hold up the number of fingers for the number of cigs. Needless to say, my hair still smells like smoke even after washing it.

The show was incredible. After the crappy, whiny, emo opening band, Nick Cave was an orchestral event. There was a drummer, a percussionist (with chimes, maracas, and even a triangle, etc.), 3 keyboards, a violinist, a bassist, and a guitarist. Their performances of Red Right Hand, Stagger Lee, and Curse of Milhaven were worth the trip. Originally, the show was scheduled for October, but was cancelled due to September 11. They honored the original tickets for this rescheduled show.

I swear, the first encore song sounded like Neil Diamond if you closed your eyes. He had a Neil vibe going on. He is probably close to seven feet tall, and was wearing a too short blazer, a white dress shirt, slacks and dress shoes. Not to mention his voice is very similar to Mr. Diamond's. "I am, I said..."

What an interesting place to people watch. There were the goths, wearing black lipstick, eyeliner, corsets, and combat boots. There were the yuppies, the old folks, the hippies, just about every stereotype. I'm not sure into which category Leigh and I fall. There were a few people so into the show that they were "invoking the spirit," as Ken's sister says. I wondered if they'd start speaking in tongues.

Anyway, time to go lolligag about the house some more.




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh