Monday, Feb. 25, 2002 @ 5:50 pm
dinner with old folks

Well, we tried Red Lobster, but there was an hour wait. No dice. So, we ended up at Mexico Lindo. Eh, whatever. I always feel wierd or something when visiting with Jeff's parents. Maybe because they're so much older than my parents. Also, Jeff's dad is partially paralyzed from multiple strokes and walks with a cane. V-E-R-Y S-L-O-W-L-Y. It must be frustrating. He made a joke once that if he feels the slightest twinge that he may need to go to the restroom, he better go ahead and head that way. Oh, and Jeff's mom has some sort of condition causing the lower half of her legs and feet to swell so much that she has to wear house shoes. Yes, house shoes in public. I told her maybe she should put her hair in rollers and put on a robe to complete the look. Anyway, they're testing to see what exactly is causing the swelling.

And then the discussion is always "How's Grandma" or whoever. Grandma broke her hip before christmas and is still staying with Jeff's parents. His paralyzed Uncle Billy had surgery on a bed sore that would not heal and is still in the hospital. Grandma, then Jeff's mom and aunts were taking care of him, but he's too much for them now. They don't have the strength to lift him any longer. So, they're looking for a nursing home for him to go to after his hospital stay. I know, depressing stuff.

So today at work was the monthly birthday lunch. We've been having pizza for the past few months, which is fine. Today I found out it was Mexican. So, I had to send a spy to find out if there was lard in the beans. Sure enough, there was. I had to go down there to see if they needed to go to the store for anything, and if so please get some lard-free beans. They didn't seem irritated, but I felt like I was making a nuisance of myself. Hell, they could have just lied to me and put the lard beans in two separate bowls. Who knows?

I am in preparation for the annual tax refund spending spree. I have a shopping cart saved on BestBuy.com with my CD-RW drive, memory upgrade, and CD-R disks. Rick at work talked me into the CD-RW. He's a bad influence. Oh, well. Maybe I can make some cool mix CDs. I still have over 200 MP3s from Napster, and Rick has been using kazaa since Napster's demise. I'll probably do the same. I just wish I could find cable or DSL for cheaper than $45 a month.

I think I have split personality, obsessive-compulsive disorder or something. I'm very miserly on some purchases, but extravagant on others. I spent $200 for an air cleaner, but am looking for the cheapest memory upgrade I can find. Well, my mother was bipolar. Is that genetic, or a result of her head injury/coma?

Speaking of obsessive-compulsive, I once made Jeff drive all the way back home from the other side of Atlanta when we were on the way to SC. I had left the battery for the digital camera on the charger and didn't want to burn the house down. He was extremely irritated. We ended up not going to SC at all. Oh, well. I told him I would have worried about it the whole time.

Randon thought...Why do I like that new Kylie Minogue song, "Can't Get You Out of My Head"? It's such drivel. Is the pulsating beat hypnotizing me?




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh