Sunday, Dec. 30, 2001 @ 9:42 am
marathon shopping

Between my exchanges and 2 gift cards, I racked up. I got some casual stuff, but also some stuff for work. I got a total of four pairs of pants for work. I plan to cut back on wearing dresses and heels because it's killing my feet.

Thursday I spent 10 hours with Jennifer. We ate 2 meals, went to 2 malls, and basically fucked around all day (as my husband said). We had a lot of fun. It was strange. We would hold up the same funky jeans or shirt to show each other, turn around and realize it and laugh. It reminds me just how close we used to be. We're getting there again, I think.

We had some deep conversations at lunch. She never knew her Dad, and I never knew my mom. We talked about how I learned masculine behaviors like assertiveness (bitchiness if you're female), how to shoot a gun, to carry a pocket knife, and the difference between a phillip's head and a flat head screwdriver. I didn't learn to be affectionate or that kind of womanly thing. I guess because my brothers were so influenced by their mom is the reason they like to cook, shop, decorate, and dress well. Interesting.

I'm cooking my own collard greens on New Year's Day. I found a vegetarian recipe. I'm also having the traditional black-eyed peas. I invited Leigh and Ken, since Jeff won't eat any of it. I'm not sure if they can come. I'd have to change some ingredients for the food to be vegan, too. That's ok. I'd be happy to. I guess I would need egg and milk replacers for the cornbread. I'm not sure about molasses for the greens. Does that have honey in it? What about the brown sugar? I'll figure it out.

Well, gotta go. I'll return to tell how the party at Jeff's boss's house went on New Year's Eve. They seem like fun people. We'll see.




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh