Wednesday, Dec. 26, 2001 @ 5:21 pm
Yay! It's over!

Where to start...

OK, I took Friday off and just chilled. I cleaned the house at a leisurely pace, and felt better once it was clean.

Saturday I had a lovely day with Leigh. We exchanged gifts. She got me a part of an amethyst geode that was small but beautiful, a gift certificate to Ulta (yay!), grapefruit spoons (they DO exist!), and a Tori Amos mouse pad (well, it's not really, but that's how I'll use it). She doesn't have much money, so I appreciate anything she gives me. Like me, she puts a lot of thought into her gifts.

I got her a substantial gift certificate to Old Navy. She was able to get some jeans and several shirts. I enjoyed shopping with her, and was glad to be able to help her get some new clothes. You need to do that regularly, you know? It's an addiction.

Saturday night we went to our friend, Karen's for our annual xmas party. We played the white elephant game with (mostly) gag gifts. No one actually took anyone's gift, but there was some swapping. Leigh got my gift, and I got one of hers & Ken's. It's one of those things that you squeeze and the eyes, ears, and nose pop out. I've actually been looking for one of those.

We then played Uno and a rather vulgar game of Pictionary. It was a lot of fun. Karen, Kellie and I were on the "Bitch Brigade" team. Everyone thought we were cheating. We seemed to be on the same wavelength. For example, I got "concave" from Kellie's drawing. I'm not cheating, just smart. At one point, we had an arm wrestling tie-breaker between me and Jennifer. She's close to my size, but does not have as much upper-body strength. People were saying, "I got a dollar on Christy!"

Anyway, I left after midnight reeking of cigarettes. I had to wash my hair (though I should have rinsed and repeated), wash my clothes, and Febreze my coat liner.

Nothing Sunday. Went to AL on Monday and had lots of laughs. My Dad and stepmother are actually getting along. It was wonderful. He was in a good mood, and she was not snapping at him. My brother, Scott, was in rare form. We both have the same quick wit, and were cracking everyone (and ourselves) up. We decided we should be stand up comedians, but that only our family would get most of the jokes.

We ate before we got there, which pissed Barbara off. She wasn't in the room when I told everyone I was a vegetarian. No one had anything bad to say. Dad jokingly tried to make me eat a piece of ham. I just ate potato salad, chips, pickles, and dessert. Barb still thinks the reason we didn't eat is because we ate beforehand. Maybe someone will tell her. That's a cop out, isn't it?

My brother Allan was very quiet and down. He just found out that his baby mama may have been sleeping with his friend for over a year. He wonders about my nephew's paternity. (I doubt it's not his. He looks like our family.) That stupid bitch. I'd slap her if I saw her. She filed a restraining order on him, and wants MORE STUFF out of the house. She took "every pair of underwear" my brother owns, and lots of other stuff that was his. Hunting clothes, binoculars, watches. That was just mean. It's ok, I bought him a bunch of boxers for xmas.

I plan to go over there Saturday. He's supposed to get my nephew Friday night, and wake up Saturday like xmas and open his gifts. I just want to be there for Allan. I know he needs someone to talk to, but I don't want to push. I'm so glad we are finally getting closer. We had a falling out a couple of years ago that left us tense around each other for a while.

Yesterday we went to SC. I wanted to leave 30 minutes after I got there. His family is beginning to get on my nerves. It's not his mother, it's the rest of the family. His sister made a snippy remark about me not helping clean up the kitchen. What is it, woman's work? Too bad. I usually get along with her very well. But, that was it, only one remark. Siera, Jeff's niece, was her usual sullen self. She did like the sweater I got for her, though. (I'm quite stylish. Ask MY niece.)

Jeff's grandma was there recovering from her hip surgery. She looked ok, but was VERY forgetful. If Jeff's mom left the room, she would ask where she went every 2 minutes. I don't think it's Alzheimer's, though. I've seen that, and it's different.

At lunch, a big deal was made about what was in certain dishes. She used fatback in the green beans, and "turkey juice" in the dressing (dammit, I love dressing), so I wouldn't eat either. I just ate corn, biscuits and gravy (just vegetable shortnening in the gravy, luckily). She later told me she didn't care if I didn't eat meat or dressing. It sounds dumb, but it was nice of her to say.

We got back around 7:30 last night. Jeff's at work today, and I'm almost done taking down the tree and decorations. It's my tradition to put up the decorations the day after Thanksgiving and take them down the day after xmas.

Tomorrow, I'm taking some clothes back (gift certificates - I told them gift certificates), and spending my gift certificates to Goody's and Rich's. Jeff has some clothes to take back, but I want to not be rushed while I'm looking. We'll go take his stuff back another day. Also, the house appraisal is scheduled for tomorrow. I guess the refinance stuff is in the works.

This is too long. Sorry.




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh