Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2003 @ 5:47 pm
passive-aggressive guilt?

As I was reading an article in Animal Watch (an ASPCA periodical) I felt a pang of guilt about Athena. We gave her to a friend who has two boys and several other animals. Athena was always excited to see her when she came over. We figured with her being so high strung (unlike laid-back Thor), she'd be better off with kids to play with her. Jeff told me a couple months ago that she was taken to the county humane society. I felt bad about this at the time (and pissed), and guilty again now. For her to have been with us for so long, then to be uprooted to go to another family, then again to go to the humane society. Who knows what happened to her after that?

Why do I do this? I get this indirect guilt thing in my head. Like, I didn't want to ask Jeff to take me to Olive Garden for my birthday because I knew he'd probably eat veal (parmesan) and I didn't want to be responsible for that. I know I wouldn't be directly responsible, but he wouldn't eat veal if not for me wanting to go to a restaurant he would not go to by choice. And it's not like chickens, cows or pigs have it much better than veal calves anyway.


I'm glad to know there's some compassion in the Bush Administration.




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh