Wednesday, Feb. 08, 2006 @ 5:45 pm
dang ol' jeebus, man

Leigh and I went to the funeral of our friend's father today. Naturally it was sad, but we thought it might be all preachy, too. That's fine, really. It ain't about us, and we would be respectful regardless. It was worse than we could have imagined. The dude who did most of the speaking sounded like Reverend Boomhauer. No really. Not only did it go on and on about how we all needed to be saved to prevent us from burning in hell, but there were times when I couldn't understand what he was saying. It's like he was on a loop. And it seemed odd to me that he spoke mostly about himself and how he was tired of sinnin', and very little about the man to whom we were there to pay respect. And that's my rant of the day. My thoughts go out to her family, truly.


Jennifer Fights Back With Pro-Fur Ad

Jennifer Lopez is angry; upset with criticism of her fashion line by animal rights activists, so Jennifer Lopez plans to appear nude in a pro-fur ad by a fur industry group. J-Lo told MTV she will appear in print and billboard ads sponsored by the Fur Education Council of America Limited, which will depict her lounging on a white fur rug, wearing nothing but stuffed fur animals to cover certain parts of her body. The ads are in response to loud protests attack ads placed by the People for the Ethical Treament of Animals, or PETA, for use of animal fur in her Sweetface clothing line and for wearing it herself.


Bitch. I'm sorry, I just lose respect for people when I see them wearing fur. A recent example: Keyshia Cole. She wears 3 or 4 different furs in her latest video. Mary J. Blige is another. I don't know how I'd react if someone I know wore fur in front of me. I'd probably give them stinkeye, but might not say anything. I give stinkeye to strangers all the time (sometimes even if they're not wearing fur). And sometimes mutter obscenities under my breath. I probably have no right to judge, since I still wear leather shoes and coats. I don't buy them anymore, though.


Someone needs my foot broke off in their ass.


Updates:
Baby's creatinine is holding steady. Recheck in 6-8 weeks.
Buzz's bloodwork was all good, but creatinine could be slightly elevated. Recheck in 6-8 weeks. (He is about 12 yrs old, so I wouldn't be surprised.)
Rufus is on an antibiotic in case there is either a bite that could get infected or something with the anal glands. The vet was worried about something becoming an abcess. (And I trust her.)
Thea - still freaky.
Filo - still fat and stinky.




Reading: Love Me to Death - Steve Jackson
Listening to: Tombigbee - Tori Amos


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh