Wednesday, Apr. 20, 2005 @ 5:25 pm
a vegtastic entry, with some last minute drama thrown in for flavor

I think this month's edition of Spin provides a succinct synopsis of my opinion of Gwen Stefani's song "Rich Girl" under the Trash section of their Playlist feature:

When this song was called "If I Were a Rich Man" (from Fiddler on the Roof), it was not only grammatically correct, but also sung by a poor Jewish milkman. This version is sung by a spoiled pop ditz who's already rich. If we were rich, we'd pay Stefani to give us a fucking break.

And now her newest single Holl@back Girl is growing on me. Damn damn DAMN. It's like Kylie Minogue's Can't Get You Out of My Head and it's hypnotic, evil beat. If they team up, the evil pop blondes could take over...the midwest or something. And Gwen, eat a damn sandwich!


I just met a new contractor at work who is a born (lifetime?) vegetarian! Woo! I'm excited. I'm not the only one! (The half-assed veg retired a few months ago.) We were even commiserating about how restaurants don't understand that we don't want to pick the meat out, or want meat broth in our food. After two days, she is realizing that it would be better to bring her lunch, which is what I do. Of course as a result, I don't get out of my office very often.


Does anyone watch the show House? I love it. That character is such a snarky, surly smart-ass that I can't help but love him. I thought they were going to piss me off last night. A couple came in with a baby who had rapidly lost weight. The couple and baby were vegan. I thought, "Oh, please don't piss me off." House had an attitude with them, at one point saying, "They're not abusive, they're idiots" when a colleague called the cops. Turns out the baby had some sort of genetic thymus gland condition that caused it. It also came out that the couple had consulted with an uncle who was a nutritionist. So, nyah!


My sister called me today. She came back to her mom's house for a few days, then ran off again on Monday. She's now staying at a house near her mom's. Apparently the guy she was running around with a few weeks ago lives in my neighborhood and was pimping her out, according to her mom. Nice to know. (I'm not exactly sure how she knows this, either from witnesses or from Danielle herself.) Also, some guys broke into her mom's house. A neighbor saw Danielle sitting on the porch about an hour before. Danielle called her stepdad and said that there were some guys in their house who broke in, better check it out...click. So, she set them up to be burglarized. Nice. They got a lot of stuff, but the alarm went off, probably cutting the activities short. And now her mom thinks she's wanting to stay with me. She didn't say it, but was asking me if I knew anything about group homes. I just told her to look in the blue pages for the Health Dept. or DFCS or something. Her mom thinks she'll call me back when she has the courage to ask (unless she can tell by my tone that it ain't gonna happen).

Her mom has actually blocked her number. She's let her come back three times now, and now been burglarized. And she stole money from her purse when she left the other day. This is what happened at her Dad's when she lived there, before she went to MN (including the burglary bit). I asked her if she was going to finish school, if she'd found a job. See, her mom describes her calling and talking like a ghetto chile, all ebonics, and "you trippin'", but with me she's sweet little Danielle. I just want to ask, what the hell are you DOING? She said she wants to finish school. How can I even attempt to be serious about any of this when I don't even know who is the real Danielle? It may seem selfish, but I really don't want to go through something ugly with her. I was just getting to know her (or so I thought).


Reading: Tori Amos: Piece by Piece with Ann Powers
Listening to: Hip Hop - Dead Prez


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh