Friday, Apr. 01, 2005 @ 10:32 am
Botox, condoms, and goth kids...what's the world coming to?

Lay off the B0t0x, Priscilla.


Stolen from rumblelizard, who stole it from Wu-names: My Wu-names from three varying screen names - Ugrateful Desperado, Unlucky Warlock, Intellectual Conqueror. Alrighty.


Forgive me for bringing up a plot line on my 'stories' again. The mother of a 14 year old girl catches her getting home early because a senior drove her home. She is distraught that her daughter is wearing makeup and a short skirt. She then finds a condom in her daughter's purse when she has to tip a delivery man. She has a rather frustrating conversation with her daughter, then rushes off to see her husband. They discuss it. The whole time I'm thinking, "I'd be happy to find a condom! Why is no one mentioning this point?" I mean, come on! I was a dumb teenager who thought it could never happen to me, and I got pregnant and miscarried at 16. If they are having sex, wouldn't it be better that they were informed and protected themselves from pregnancy and disease? This abstinence and nothing else stance of the current administration just baffles me. Were these people never teenagers? (This topic also hits home now, what with the recent developments with my sister.)

Update: Finally on Wednesday the girl herself (or her character) mentioned this by saying, "Well, if I was doing what you and Mom suspect, wouldn't you want me to use protection?" She is so far denying any sexual activity. I'm just curious how the story will play out on this show. They tend to glorify pregnancy* and get all holy holy when someone's in the hospital in a coma or something. "I better go to the chapel and PRAY, or Schmoopie will never make it!"

*Hmmm. Maybe not. The real life daughter of one of the writers/producers had her character's marriage end partly because she didn't want to have children at that moment. Then again...


From MTV.com:

...the goth-inspired crew of five or so high school outcasts...

The crew wore black clothes, listened to heavy metal and dyed or spiked their hair, with Weise opting for devil's horns in his school picture from last year. Though initial reports painted Weise as a lone wolf whose life was lived mainly online with a group of confidants that included Nazi sympathizers and fellow fans of dark fiction, students told the Star-Tribune that Jourdain and Weise constantly hung out together.

(Emphasis mine.) Dude. So, like, we should have been shooting people? Yay. Another reason for the jeebus freaks to freak.


My face is clearing up again (except for a few I can't leave the hell alone). Turns out for the past few days I was in the 'red zone,' so to speak (no, not that red zone), of my cycle. Luckily the outbreak wasn't as bad as last month. I'm still healing from that one.


Still no word on my sister. Just like last time, I know they're busy and dealing with a lot, so I don't want to bother her mom. I'll probably break down and email her tomorrow if I haven't heard anything.


Reading: Mad Cowboy
Listening to: Medication - QOTSA


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh