Tuesday, Feb. 08, 2005 @ 9:29 pm
ain't grown yet

I finally talked to Danielle last night. She called just as I was about to get a late start on my workout. I asked her what happened. She told me that she was fed up with that place, and decided to leave when her roommate was leaving. She said that they said they weren't a (jeebus) boot camp, but would then be yelling in their faces. I'm not sure what led up to that, but there you go. I asked if she'd talked to her Dad. She hadn't since the day she got back. She was upset that he'd shut her out. I said it may have something to do with no one knowing where you were for 4 days. Everyone was worried. I said it in a matter-of-fact and non-threatening way (I think), and that's all I said that could be construed as lecture.

She said that she and her mom were going to work things out, and she would stay there. They're going to find her a school to go to, because for some reason they don't want her to (or she can't) go back to the school she went to when she lived there before. Her mom told me that when they had the talk and she was told of her options - go to the new group home or stay there (and they would not be her doormats as in the past) - she ran outside, refusing both. She came back a few minutes later saying that she would try, and would rather stay there.

There were a few awkward silences. During one, she said, "Uh, I'm kind of quiet." I said, "Yeah, I'm not used to talking on the phone much. I do most of my communicating via email." Am I that much of a hermit? She said maybe we could hang out sometime, and I said, "if it's allowed." She said, "Allowed?" I asked if they had her on a "short leash", and related how it was with my Dad during the six months between having a miscarriage and turning 17. I told her I knew how it felt to feel like I was grown, but to not be able to be on my own legally (which is why I waited until I turned 17, since marriage wasn't in the original plan).

I hope I came across ok. It's not my job to parent her, but I'm technically her elder. I asked the opinion of a teenager on a message board who I've been talking to about this for a while. She said to just be her sister. Well, I'm new to this. My brothers are much older, and our relationships are much different. Maybe I should ask one of them their opinion, after having dealt with me as a teenager.


Reading: Bleachy-Haired Honky Bitch - Hollis Gillespie
Listening to: Lick Shots - Missy Elliott


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh