Wednesday, Nov. 03, 2004 @ 5:32 pm
electoral college can bite me

I like to sing-a, about the moon-a and the June-a and the spring-a...


So, he's laying on the hands now? Psh.


So the stepmother calls this past weekend to tell me that she was not going to cook on Thanksgiving. We were, however, invited to her sister's house. She assured me there would be plenty of vegetables. Yeah, and knowing them, they'd be covered in lard or fatback or something. When she asked if Jeff would come (he hasn't been able to go to the normal xmas eve thing for the past year or two because he has had to work, and I guess she's confused), I told her I didn't know if either of us would.

She called back yesterday to tell me that she was now going to cook after all. The reason? My niece doesn't have anywhere else to go. While it may be true, geez. You guys are on your own, but if poor little Steph might be upset, oh no! Sure, I don't blame her for not wanting to cook. I don't want to, ever. At least she does not flavor all the vegeatables with meat juice.

That reminds me, my sister's 16th birthday was last Tuesday. Speaking of that, I just got an email from her adoptive mother yesterday. She said that my sister will be visiting them for a week for Thanksgiving, and she wanted to tell her everything about beiong adopted and having a half-sister. Kinda scary. I wonder how she'll react. Her mom said, "Knowing [her], she will want to meet you as soon as we tell her, she will be very excited I'm sure." I don't know. Won't she be mad?


I voted on Friday. ceryna (her screen name) and I got there at 10:30 and didn't leave until 2:30. Four fucking hours! There were 5 advance polling places in my county, too, compared to one or two in most other counties. I wished I'd brought one of those folding chairs a few people had. One lady was on crutches and was there before us. She left after about 2 hours, in tears from the pain. I felt like they should have let her cut in line with the people 75 or older and/or licensed handicapped.

We had to fill out the advance/absentee form, show ID and voter registration card. Two poll workers verified my registration number on a written list as well as on a computer. I was given a card to insert into the touch screen machine. I was allowed to verify my choices, then submit. I gave the card to another poll worker, who gave me an "I'm a Georgia Voter" sticker. I'm glad I got it over with early. My back still hurts a little from standing for so long. I'm not sure the advance thing was all it was cracked up to be. I don't think people had to wait nearly as long yesterday. At the time I didn't think it would be any better, though. Nothing I can do now, about any of it.


If my stepmother sends me a "Yay, he's winning" email today, I don't think I'll be able to control myself. And that's all I have to say about that.


Reading: Living Among Meat Eaters - Carol J. Adams
Listening to: the voices in my head


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh