Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2004 @ 5:31 pm
car crap, work drama, and ticket ordeal

Remember that assistant manager position that the higher ups listed without telling anyone on our team or our boss about? Yeah. Four people from our team applied, and three or four hundred "outsiders" applied. Out of the applicants, my boss determined that one guy from the team was qualified, and he was more qualified than any of the applicants. Well, the higher ups didn't like that. After a grueling and unpleasant meeting, it was determined that out teammate would be the acting assistant manager for 90 days. During that time, the higher ups will evaluate his performance, i.e. watch him like a hawk. I'm just disgusted. If they are at all concerned with morale or motivation (which I doubt), this is not the way to go about it. I suspect they just agreed to this only to veto it at the end of the 90 days no matter how well he performs. Luckily he is up to the task, and determined to prove them wrong, or at least do his best.


I talked to Brian, the car salesman we talked to in October or November. He wasn't there when we went in Saturday to make our order, but someone else took down the info for him. He found out that they will not allow substitutions from one package onto another, so we will not be getting the wheels and exhaust tips Jeff wanted. The wheels we are getting will be about the same, but in diamond cut aluminum. Jeff said he could get the exhaust tips cheaper than the $360 Brian said it would cost to order them separately. He also said he thought window tinting was $110, which is reasonable. I think we paid $150 or so last time, and that wasn't at the dealer. That will be done once the car is delivered, so no rush yet.


This whole ticket thing pisses me off, too. I understand my friend who cancelled wanting to make some money since she just had a baby, bought a house, and only her husband works. And she didn't know about the plans in November. It still pisses me off. I guess you learn things about your friends over time - who not to accept checks from, who not to make advance plans with, etc.

I was getting all emotional (no, I didn't cry. Just ansty, jittery and pissed off) about it this afternoon. Rick at work offered to do a one day auction for me, but I was hesitant. I was holding out hope that someone I could tolerate would agree to go with me. I finally went up the hall to ask my friend Pat, who had turned me down. She said she'd go with me as a last resort, but she really didn't have the money. I told her I'd eat the cost if it meant I could go to the show with someone I actually knew and liked. She gave me her home and cell phone numbers just in case. Another lady in the office said she would ask a friend of hers if she wanted to go. She said she would, but needed to see if her mother would babysit her daughter. My coworker is to give her all of my phone numbers if she calls back with a yes. We'll see.


Luckily I'm playing hookie with missleigh next Wednesday. I need it. And I refuse to wear green.




Reading: Fast Food Nation - Eric Schlosser
Listening to: evening news in the background


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh