Monday, Mar. 01, 2004 @ 1:19 pm
everyone else is talking about it...

Yep.


I had a decent weekend. Jeff and I got along. No, that's not a rarity, but we sometimes get on each other's nerves. OK, probably him on my nerves more. How can I say that? I'm much more easily irritated.

He really surprised me Friday at lunch as we watched the Young & the Restless. They flashed across the bottom of the screen some news (� la CNN) about the gay marriage ban vote in GA. Actually, it was about a couple who wants to get married, or something. He said, "Why? Why does it matter what someone else does? It's their life! What's the big deal?" He hadn't been paying attention to the news about DUHbya (thanks, Carla!) and the state of GA wanting to ban gay marriage, so I filled him in. So, yeah. I've heard him make certain comments about gays in the past. His older brother was gay and died of AIDS, which he never talks about. I know he did not like his brother very much, but I'm not sure if it was because of his sexual orientation. (Of course, he also made a comment that if anyone had a problem with P bringing a date to the xmas party in December, they could leave. She didn't, but that's not the point.)

I must admit that sometimes I'm put off by seeing a same sex couple (especially males) kiss or be affectionate. I'm not of the opinion that it's wrong, but it just freaks me out a bit. It could be that I dislike PDAs in general, or a learned response. I do believe that people can be born gay. We were just talking about that at work. A lady who is from Ukraine was saying she didn't think it was possible, but it could be that she hasn't been exposed to anyone in that situation. I remember years ago when mutual friends sat me down and told me our friend P was gay, thinking I'd freak out for some reason. Most of us though, "Well, that explains a lot." I can't really put my finger on the exact reasons, but there you go. She just is. It's who she is. Just like I'm an anal-retentive, assertive, short, blonde heterosexual female.

What was my point? I'm just rambling.


I'm working at home again today. The VOLTS light came on in my car even though it didn't come on at all on Saturday when the old battery finally crapped out and we replaced it. Explain that one to me. Good thing we're going to order a new car next weekend. Heh. OK, it's not that dire. The car is only 5 years old. I'm still getting a new one. Thank the gods for my dad's employee discount! I still can't decide on the cloth or leather seats. Based on the tiny swatches on the website, the ebony looks like the crappy cloth with the confetti looking shit on it. The gray looks ok, but it's still hard to tell from that. The problem is that most of the SS's on car lots have leather, so I'm not sure I'll be able to see the sport cloth seats in person. And Jeff's enamored with the heated seats after driving a customer's car that had them, and they require leather. Oh, well. Such a problem to have, huh?

UPDATE: It was the alternator, which tested OK on Saturday. Hmmm. Apparently a bad battery can make an alternator go bad. I knew the reverse could happen, but not this. It's certainly good to be married to a mechanic.


Woodstock
You are Woodstock!



Which Peanuts Character are You?
brought to you by Quizilla

Eh, I don't know about that.

Marcie
You are Marcie!



Which Peanuts Character are You?
brought to you by Quizilla

I guess that's better.




Reading: Fast Food Nation - Eric Schlosser
Listening to: Black Flag - Annihilate This Week


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh