Sunday, Jan. 11, 2004 @ 9:33 am
fun with phobias

I think I'm developing phobias and/or anxieties. I went to get my massage, and the owner's daughter was there with her 5 week old baby. I was very uncomfortable. He didn't make any noise, but he didn't have to. I tried desperately to divert my eyes while waiting on Lisa to finish up with the appointment before mine. She came out and saw the look on my face, and said she knew she had to get me back there as soon as possible. She knows I don't like children, but I didn't realize I had a look on my face. She mentioned it, and I told her I didn't know if it was a phobia of the kid or of how I'm expected to act. Everyone's all gaga, and I'm just not. The guy's wife who got a massage before me is having twins. When Debbie told me, I said, "I'm sorry." That was probably rude. I should just say congratulations and shut up about it. Sometimes I say, "Better you than me."

Later at the home interior party at Linda's house (Jeff's boss' wife), again I felt uncomfortable. I really only went to hang out with Linda and her friends. All this girliness is not my thing. I kind of sit off to the side and don't say much. At one point Linda asked if I was still over there, since I was around a corner and out of her line of sight.

The home interior stuff turned out to be mostly candles and candle holders. They were really cool, though, but expensive. The candles do not drip, and the pure wax evaporates completely. And there were decadent scents, including caramel, blueberry, raspberry, mulberry, lemongrass, cafe latte, 3 different vanillas, spiced plum, etc. I ended up buying just a "warmer" and some biscuits, I think they were called. It's just scented wax that you put in a warmer with a votive candle underneath to melt it. I'd been wanting one, but never found one I liked. I actually was going to buy more, but the total was $80-something. I said, "Huh? Oh, no no no." So, I took some stuff out. Once all that was over, I had fun. They're an entertaining bunch.

They invited us back last night, but we didn't go. Mike, Jeff's boss, has a huge slot car track in his basement. They're having a "race." I've told him numerous times that the track doesn't need to take up half the basement, and to put a pool table down there. You know, so I can whoop his ass and run the table on him.


pg13
What rating is your journal?

brought to you by Quizilla

Oh, I can do better than that!




Reading: Bitch - Wurtzel (going to try to finish today or tomorrow, dammit)
Listening to: Freddie's Dead - Curtis Mayfield


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh