Friday, Jan. 02, 2004 @ 10:23 am
I want more money and muscles in 2004

You're in the right place.


Ugh. I woke up at around 2am on New Years Eve and could not go back to sleep. I managed to work (sort of) for four hours at home. I tried unsuccessfully to take a nap three times. Needless to say I had a hard time staying awake until midnight.

We did manage to get our new mattress and put it in place with my new mattress pad, pillows, and 350 thread count sheets. I wish I could say I slept better Wednesday night, but only marginally so. I forgot to take both my Allegra-D and Flonase, and I tried sleeping on the contour pillow. I cannot lay flat when my sinuses are fucking up, so my nose was clogged all night. I got up around 8am.

I spend a leisurely couple of hours at Linens N Things and Barnes & Noble. I returned some of the pillows I'd bought, and exchanged them for some other organizing stuff for the kitchen, and a "squishy" (my word, not his) pillow for Jeff to replace the down pillows I've had since I was a kid. There's no telling what kind of gunk is growing in those. Luckily I found a pillow filled with a "down alternative" that had the required squishiness.

I went to B&N just to see if there were any pocket calendars at a reasonable price. I've been using one to keep track of my workouts. I ended up with a fancy spiral bound workout log for $12 that I'd balked at spending that much for in the past. I'll make good use of it, I hope. I also bought some Grinch christmas cards at 50% off, and looked through some tattoo and women's fitness magazines. I ended up buying one called Fitness Rx for Women, despite the bronzed, cut, bikini-wearing chic on the cover. There seems to be some good workout, nutrition, and general self-care info in it. We'll see.

From that last bit, it's obvious my resolutions revolve around fitness. I'd like to try new things to help me stay motivated and prevent boredom. I'd also like to have some goals and be more thorough in my planning. Hence the log, and a new workout tape I'm probably going to buy. I've been focusing on my arms and abs too much, and not so much on the rest of my body. The Pilates hits the lower body also, but I do that once a week, if that often. I try to do kickboxing, walking (treadmill or street), or other aerobics to work my legs, but it's not enough. I'll have to do some thinking and sit down with the workout log to plan my goals.


I also have financial goals:

- Open a 401K for Jeff. He is in a field were these are not offered through a company. Also, he works for a small shop with 4 total employees, including the owner. He even mentioned this to me, and I'd been thinking about it, too.

- Purchase life insurance for Jeff. This is something that is fiscally smart considering the debt we both carry. I've got pretty good insurance for myself through work. His mom has a very small policy for him which would probably only cover burial fees. I'll probably talk to my sister-in-law about this and the 401K, since she is a financial advisor.

- I think we should also do a will, despite not having children. There are things I want in writing (cremation (for me, which Jeff disagrees with), living will, etc.).

- Transfer my (and maybe Jeff's) credit card balance to a 0% intro rate credit card and pay that fucker down. I've just about narrowed my search to American Express Blue.

- Start putting a set amount a month into my savings account.

- Up my deferred compensation (401K) contributions.

- Start a medical spending account in order to pay for LASIK. That is, if my vision has been stable for 1 year prior. That is the only problem I foresee, because I'm not sure if it has. I'll have to call my eye doctor.

I think that's it. While I do buy stuff for myself, I think I'm not frivolous or irresponsible with my money. I just need to control it a bit more. Oh, one other thing is to trade in my car for a new one sometime between January and March. It's not a goal or resolution as much as it is a to-do. It's time.

My goal for today is to clean the house and watch at least one of the Netflix DVDs that have been collecting dust for weeks. So, I'll go get to it.




Reading: Bitch - Wurtzel (also the goal setting guidelines in my new workout log)
Listening to: Born to Hula - Kyuss


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh