Friday, Jun. 20, 2003 @ 8:32 am
"Gimme a head with hair, long beautiful hair"

I didn't like the new workout tape yesterday. For quite a bit of it, I ended up jogging in place because the moves were so dumb. And there was all this early nineties hair and bad leotards. Not like the 80's ones, but black with weird shoulder straps and belts. And why did they wear those stupid hats to workout? Tamilee Webb wears one in one of the videos I have. So yeah, I put it on Swappingtons. Great sales pitch, huh?


This one's about hair, so you know I had to do it...

THE FRIDAY FIVE

1. Is your hair naturally curly, wavy, or straight? Long or short?

Naturally wavy. If I blow it dry or use a straightener, it's very straight. If I let it dry naturally (as I do 99% of the time), it's wavy to pretty curly (depending on the products I use - or don't). Right now it's to the middle of my back with a few long layers in front.

2. How has your hair changed over your lifetime?

It was all one length until I was about 7 or 8. My evil step-mother (not really) decided to get bangs cut into it. I hated them at first. When I was 9 or 10, I got this ultra short mullet-type 'do. I hated it, too. After that grew out to about shoulder length, I remember getting a home perm. I twirled my hair even then, so one curl hung down further than the rest. I had a feathered mullet in 6th and 7th grade. In 8th grade, I started what will become the big hair in high school:

In my junior year, my hair had become too long to achieve the big hair, so I started ironing it straight. (I'll have to find a picture...) I fixed the big hair one last time for my wedding at age 17. I let it grow to about my butt for probably 10 or more years until last year when I decided I needed a change. I got some length cut off, some "thinning" done (to avoid mushroom head - I suffer from the frizz), and some layers in front for movement. Didn't I already say that?

3. How do your normally wear your hair?

Air-dried, so it's wavy. It parts wherever the hell it wants to, but usually a bit right of center. This is not a political commentary. It's too much of a hassle (to keep it "fixed") to wear it up or in a clip so I usually don't. When I workout, I have to wear it in a ponytail with a wide headband (sometimes the cut-off remains of too-long, stretchy pants) to keep the flyaways out of my face.

4. If you could change your hair this minute, what would it look like?

I would say I'd like it to be naturally straight, but I hear it's even harder to get it wavy or curly than it is to straighten. I like that I'm able to do either without too much work, as long as I have an extra 20-30 minutes. Yeah, that happens all the time. I like that it's thick, but because it's so thick, it's not practical to have it as long as I have in the past. It's just too much hair. I guess I'd just like less frizz.

5. Ever had a hair disaster? What happened?

I'd say the ultra short mullet thing was a disaster, but I didn't have a choice in the matter. Once I had a say, I let it grow and watched stylists with scissors in hand like a hawk. My stepmother has offered numerous times to trim it (when it was very long). Uh, no.


christy13
Magic Number19
JobSinger
PersonalityA Worrier, I Worry That I Worry Too Much
TemperamentAn Oft-Exploding Volcano
SexualGay
Likely To WinThe Respect Of My Colleagues
Me - In A WordBelligerent
Colour
Brought to you by MemeJack

Inaccurate (except for the worrying part, and maybe the belligerent part, too), but fun.




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh