Sunday, Apr. 06, 2003 @ 9:30 am
geez, I hate this

Jeff's mom called Friday afternoon. Grandma died around 2:00. I had to tell Jeff when he got home from work. Her name was Pansy. (I think) she was 87. She had fallen twice within the past year or so, and had to have 2 surgeries to fix her leg. She had been getting a bit of dementia. Jeff's mom thinks it was triggered by the anesthesia. She would talk constantly, and ask the same questions over and over. It was driving Jeff's mom crazy. They had her medicated to calm her down a bit. Grandma was staying with my mother-in-law, but she had help from her family who lives on the same street.

Apparently she began getting worse through the past week. They think she had a stroke sometime in the last week, because she stopped speaking. I have not cried, nor has Jeff (that I have seen). We probably will at her funeral on Tuesday. She was such a sweet, generous, strong, funny lady. She hugged me recently as we were leaving and told me I was "such a sweet girl." Jeff said she must not know me well. I think he was kidding.

This will be the third funeral I've been to in Cowpens. First was Jeff's Grandpa who had spinal meningitis, then his older brother who had AIDS. Do I wear the same black dress that I wore to his brother's funeral? I think I'll wear pants. Jeff only has black jeans. His mom said she put him down as a pallbearer, but he didn't have to do it if he doesn't want to. She said she told them he probably didn't have a suit. I suggested going to get at least some dress pants if he wanted, but he said he'd just wear something he has and "let someone else do the pallbearing."

I was not surprised by this news, but it's still sad. I was sad to hear about her mental health declining, too. I'd always told Jeff and his mom how lucky they were that Grandma was still so sharp. My great-grandmother Viola (or Mama Martin, as we called her) didn't know me or my Dad when she died in a nursing home of Alzheimer's at 90. And Grandma was with family. I can't imagine being there when someone dies, but it's got to be better than the person dying alone.

And Grandma introduced me to the work "rigmarole."


Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh