Friday, Apr. 04, 2003 @ 11:27 am
miscellaneous ranting

My office mate made a good point yesterday about the war. I was telling him how I'm not exactly pro-war, but could see why we're there as far as the atrocities committed against the Iraqi people by Saddam. I also told him while I thought the publicized reasons for the war were legitimate, the underlying reasons are about oil. Like a bonus, I guess. He said that while that may be true, it would not be good for that much oil to be controlled by such a leader as Saddam. That gives him way too much leverage against the countries that rely on oil. Also, if we are buying from him, we could be helping to fund terrorist attacks against us. I can see that. Just like for any other necessity of that scale. If someone like Saddam is in control of it, he has that leverage.

I don't know. I'm still sort of like an unbiased observer, but not really. I'm just taking it in without getting worked up about anything. Except that Geraldo is an asshat. Of that I am certain. And these celebrity anti-war protesters are beginning to annoy me. The war is on. Shut up already. They are not going to stop just because Susan Sarrandon is against it. Then again, free speech and all.

Ah fuck, what the hell do I know?


Ah, that's better.


I was able to fix the network drive problem on my work PC myself. I went into the connection properties looking for something on my office mate's suggestion and took a chance on another setting I'd noticed not checked. No one had suggested this before. So, yay me. I'm working at home today, dammit. And getting a massage. And I'll probably eat some chocolate, too, with Diet Cherry Coke.


Shit. So I was able to connect to VPN, but was kicked off after an hour. Now I can't even get internet on the work PC, even though the LAN status is connected. I'm now waiting for a guy to reply to an email or call me at home. I don't think he gets to work until after 9am.

I am not going to the office if this cannot be resolved! I've been doing analysis on a program that is having some fucked up errors in production. Luckily I printed the code at work yesterday. I suspect that the newest member of our team went in there and fucked something up, then compiled to production without having compiled to test first. The version in test is not having these problems.


I still haven't a clue as to what's wrong with that program. I did get reconnected to VPN. I did make some people aware of the problems so I can log off at 12:00 with a clear conscience. Shit, I was finding errors not even related to the error my boss asked me to look into. What the hell happened?

Fuck this, I'm going to play mah jongg.




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh