Sunday, Mar. 16, 2003 @ 4:16 pm
am I on the road to becoming a groupie?

missleigh and I went to Athens to see Queens of the Stone Age last night. Oh my god. I think I want to quit my job and stalk Josh Homme full time. He's that hot. And the show last night? Tight. They were so good. And I knew every song they played, because they only played from Rated R and Songs for the Deaf - the two I have. And all the songs were as good as if not better than on the CDs. Especially No One Knows. They sped it up a bit.

We got there a little later than planned, like 9:30. We claimed our spot center stage, about 20 feet back. Not bad, but I'm only 5'2". There were these tall, fat-headed guys in front of us, and one of them was about to get punched in the neck. He insisted on bouncing, jumping, and flailing around when there wasn't room for that shit. I was bracing myself for an elbow in the face, and my eventual retaliatory assault, but luckily it didn't happen. I was close enough to gaze upon Josh, but not too close as to make a fool of myself as I stood there mouth agape. Did I mention how hot he is? I think I'm obsessed.

And don't get me wrong. I'm not so superficial as to just consider his appearance. He's no beauty queen, like Dave Navarro (hey, he does wear a boa quite often). I do think he's physically attractive, but his talent has a lot to do with it, too. I don't know what's up with this. It's so unlike me.

Turbonegro, the opening band, was supposed to be a Scandinavian death punk band (according to the website). It was basically cock rock. The lead singer was shirtless and tubby, and wore black greasepaint around his eyes a la Alice Cooper. He also wore a top hat, a (too small) grommet belt, and carried a band leader baton (is that what they're called?). He reminded me of the bad guy leader in Mad Max. One guitar player wore a sailor hat, a too small buttoned up Levi's jacket, and red lipstick. Two songs that stood out were I Got Erection (which we thought was a fraternity thing, as they were chanting it before the show started) and Good Head. Funny shit, and they weren't half bad musicians, either.


I'd had a really shitty day yesterday. My internet was down due to the router's 'diag' light being on. I couldn't even get to the setup. That was stressing me out, because the troubleshooting wanted me to do stuff that could fuck up what Dean had done to set it up with the modem. I was so tempted to page him. I ended up emailing him a dramatic email from Leigh's. I sent him another one today to let him know that all it took was to unplug the thing and plug it back in. Boy, don't I feel stupid.

Anyway, I listened to Tenacious D on the way to Leigh's in an effort to improve my mood. It took me down a couple notches, but that's it. I was still ready to punch someone. That frat boy just doesn't know how lucky he is.




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh