Tuesday, Sept. 10, 2002 @ 5:59 pm
soapbox derby

I guess I'm a glutton for punishment. I watched Animal Precinct and Animal Cops on Animal Planet last night. I cried within minutes after I saw a skull x-ray of a small dog. It made me think of the cat I killed. No, I do not know why. Then the Animal Cops episode was shot in Detroit and was mostly about abandoned dogs and fighting dogs (pit bulls). That, of course, made me think of Thor. Then I got pissed at myself for being such a baby. I freaked out yesterday morning, then bottled it up all day. I didn't cry until I was lying there in bed alone (Jeff was at the neighbors'). I could just hear my Dad saying, "Don't be such a sissy!"

Then I got pissed again at the owners for putting me in that position. That's selfish on my part, I know. Self-serving. I just have to keep in mind that I only have control of the treatment of my own animals. They may be lazy fuckers (and one is fat), but they are healthy, happy, protected, and loved.

My thoughts keep returning to the dog at the pound. Last night Jeff was still undecided. I'm kind of hoping he gets him. He seemed like a good dog. I hope that if he decided to get him that he makes sure he's ok with cats before bringing him home. I wonder if Thor's smell is still in his bed, or the house. I doubt that would bother this dog, though. He'd be glad to be off the cold concrete.

I have such strong reactions when it comes to aninals. Like watching those shows on Animal Planet pisses me off. Like when they arrest someone for cruelty, or they have to put down perfectly healthy pit bulls because they have been involved in fighting (even though they wag their tails and appear friendly). A former neighbor's cat used to like to visit us. We called he Mommy Kitty. She came over with a huge growth on the side of her face. I got so pissed, because I knew she had not been to the vet. Look, I know times are hard. I've been there. I still did what I had to do to save Buzz when he needed emergency surgery. Could I afford all my bills? Sometimes not. It's a responsibility - a life - not property. If people are not willing to take the proper care of their animals, they shouldn't have them. I guess the same could be said for children, but that's not my cause.

<< Christy13 steps off her soapbox. >>




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh