Saturday, Jun. 29, 2002 @ 1:29 pm
snip snip

I had my teeth cleaned yesterday. Jeff went last week and warned me that the hygenist was a poker, meaning she occasionally jabbed your gums with the scraper thingy. Actually, after orthodontia, nothing phases me. Compared to having your braces adjusted, the cleaning was nothing. At one point, she asked me if I flossed every day. Yes, I do. Then she said it seemed that my gums were more sensitive in the front than the back. Um, yeah. That happens when you jab me with a sharp instrument. Jeff had me especially worried about her flossing skills, but it was not as painful as the actual cleaning. Jeff's teeth are close together, and I had some baby and adult teeth pulled before I got braces at 10. So I guess I had more room in there or something, or Jeff's just a big sissy.

I made my weekly trip to Target after the dentist to waste time before my hair appointment. I flipped through any hairstyle magazine I could find, and actually found one with a couple examples of what I wanted. I bought it and took it with me. I wasn't as nervous as I thought I'd be. I got there early and chatted with the owner, who was encouraging me.

On Wednesday, I overheard a lady at the health food store telling a friend about getting her long hair cut short. I looked, and it was up by her ears. Sheesh. Brave girl. A few minutes later, I asked her about it and told her I had an appointment and was having a had time deciding what to do. She suggested having it done in phases, as she did. She said it's such a shock that you have to give yourself time to adjust, which is what I was thinking, too.

So, drumroll, please.....I wimped out. Not really. It was to my waist, and now it's at mid-chest. I think she cut close to six inches. She also layered the front starting at my collar bone so I can curl it in to frame my face, or out to look like a throwback to the 70s. She beveled the ends in the back so that when I let it dry naturally, the ends won't puff up. She thinned it out by putting layers in that I cannot see. She then blowdried it using this big round brush while trying to yank my remaining hair out of my scalp. Actually, the tension is supposed to aid in straightening, I guess. It looks really good. I told her she just needs to come to my house every morning at 5:30 to do that. I think it will be okay wavy, which is what I was worried about. Everyone was so funny at the salon. They were all asking me if I was ok. They told me about a lady who had long hair and insisted on getting it cut shoulder length. They tried to talk her into just getting a little cut, but she was adamant. Afterwards, she cried.

Blah blah blah, boring hair talk over. I get home and check the mail and what do I find? A jury summons. Woohoo. Actually I wouldn't mind it, but I'm a nerd like that. I was summoned several years ago, but the trial was postponed. I only went in one day and at around and filled out a 20 page questionnaire. I later found out that it had been a murder trial, and my landlord's wife was summoned for that one. She ended up being sequestered for 2 weeks. I don't think I'd like that.

Missleigh and I are going to see Judy Tenuta tonight, and then Lucky Yates at midnight. I went to bed after midnight and have been awake since 5am, so I'm not sure how I'll feel. But Webster will be there, so I'll chug some Diet Coke or something so I can get Dan an autograph. I wouldn't want him to sic his Evil Robot Army on me. Or Eunice.




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh