Thursday, Jun. 13, 2002 @ 5:00 pm
happy birthday to me

My cats gave me a birthday gift this morning. There's nothing like cleaning cat vomit early in the morning, especially on your birthday.

Let's see, my friend Aimee called me this morning. I went to high school with her and her twin sister, Lisa. Their birthday was yesterday. She wanted to wish me a happy birthday and thank me for the card I sent her. I said in the card that we should get together soon, and she agreed. She's pregnant with her second child, but I won't hold that against her.

My step-mother and Dad called this morning, also. Barbara thought I was coming over there tomorrow, though I told her July. Dad said, "What are y'all doing, sitting around with your feet up?" That joke's getting old, Dad. Yes, I'm a bureaucrat. Get over it, redneck. I emailed Scott just in case he was mistaken about when I'm visiting, too, though I doubt he is.

Rick at work brought me a six pack of Captain Morgan's Gold, which is apparently some sort of malt beverage that's supposed to be like Captain Morgan's Spiced Rum and Coke, which I love. I asked if he had heard about it on Monday when we were discussing beer and other alcoholic beverages. He said he'd get me some for my birthday, but I thought he was joking.

I'm kind of looking forward to finding a puppy. Maybe I can handle things differently. I love animals, but have never been much of a dog person. They just smell, are too needy, follow you around, chew things, etc. If Thor needed a bath, I usually wouldn't pet him. I know it's wrong. As Leigh said, "Dogs don't know they stink." I'd play with him, but that usually involved pushing him around the kitchen with my foot or chasing him around the yard trying to get whatever toy or tree branch he had in his mouth.

Well, I'm home now. No more cards or phone calls. I see now why Jeff says "just another day" about his birthday. At 28, I guess I've outgrown having a fuss made over my birthday.


Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh