Wednesday, Mar. 27, 2002 @ 5:39 pm
fags and snobs

I consider myself to be an open-minded person. This is why my reaction to seeing Kurt and Chris on the Real World showing each other affection surprised me. When I see them kissing, hugging, spooning, or horsing around in the pool, I'm kind of uncomfortable. Well, that's not exactly right. As I was watching it, I was wondering how I could put it into words. This kind of bothers me. I mean, their affection doesn't bother me in the biblical, "they're going to Hell" sense. Especially since I don't give a rat's ass what the bible says and am not a christian, anyway. I guess maybe unnatural is the word, or maybe not.

I always thought I was cool with homosexuality. A good friend from high school came out several years ago and was worried about my reaction. It was not a big deal to me. I guess since I've never really been around any gay couples, I never knew how I would feel about seeing them display affection. There's nothing wrong with me feeling this way. I mean, even right wing fundamentalists are entitled to their opinions. I guess it's just something I'll have to think about and sort out in time.

I wonder if it's the old double standard that men have. You know, two women together = sexy, 2 men = gross. I'm generally not bothered by seeing gay men - in public, on TV, in movies - but they are rarely shown kissing or giving any type of affection. Oh, well. I'll figure this out.

------------------------------------

I think I may be a music snob. I was talking to this lady at work that I like to joke around with. She made a comment that she "thinks she's a critic" about me. I said I am a critic. Anyway, she was saying how she likes Ja Rule. I'm sorry, he and Mystical get on my damn nerves, along with Jermaine Dupree and P.Diddly (not a typo), too. And Wyclef - who told him he could sing? And speaking of that - Paula Abdul, Janet Jackson, Macy Gray, Britney, MADONNA! Don't get me wrong, I love Madonna. She really can't sing, though her voice has definitely improved over the years. I don't particularly like Christina Aguilera, but at least she has a good voice. Some of my favorite voices are Tori Amos (of course), Shania Twain (get outta country, sweetie), Joan Osborne, Erykah Badu, Mary J. Blige, Etta James, Pink (yes, Pink), Ann Wilson, Chris Cornell, Geddy Lee...oops, I lapsed into another list. Sorry. And a list from a rant, at that.




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh