Monday, Mar. 18, 2002 @ 6:04 pm
metal and melancholy

Does anyone else relate when I say a song "gives me chills"? I said that to Jeff once, and he asked me what I meant by that. He's not as touched by and into music as I am, I guess. I was referring to the last half of track 2 (Is there anybody out there?), disc 2 of Pink Floyd's The Wall. Something about the guitar there - the eerie, melancholy vibe. Another song that does it is Lynrd Skynrd's Simple Man. Don't laugh. It happens especially during the guitar part after the chorus. This could be partly nostalgia, because it reminds me of when Jeff and I were dating. Another one (that I mentioned in a previous entry) is Wish You Were Here, yet another Pink Floyd song. Hmmm. There are also several Metallica songs that give me chills. I'm a metal chic to the bone. Can't help it.

I remember going to my first concert in 1988(?), Metallica and The Cult. I was 14, I think. My Dad wouldn't let me go by myself, so my older brother Scott took me. We were a sight - me in my torn up jeans, Metallica concert t-shirt and big hair; he in his cuffed jeans, button down shirt, and loafers. A group of guy friends I went to school with were there and hung out with us. I think my brother wondered if I had any female friends. Gods, that was fun. I stood on the arms of the seat thrashing, screaming along with the lyrics, and pumping my fists. I was hoarse and my hair had partially fallen when we left. Just think of all the kids nowadays who will say their first concert was Britney Spears or NStynk. Wussies.

------------------------------------

Oh, yeah. I had ordered this steam cleaner - the Shark Steam Blaster. I had been looking into a steam cleaner thing for months trying to find the best one for the money. Well, I got it I think Monday and finally had a chance to try it out Friday. I put water in and went to get more. I came back to see the water level had dropped to a half inch from the bottom. Huh? Where'd it go? Oh, all over the bathroom floor. Motherfucker! It had poured out a vent in the bottom of the thing. I heard something rattling in the bottom when I lifted it to get the rest of the water out. I called customer service and they said to send it back with a copy of the invoice and postage receipt. So, I did that on Saturday. Fuckers. Now they're supposed to send me a new one. I don't know if that happened in shipping, or if it was defective from the factory. So, I'll either get one that works, or it's just a piece of shit all around.




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh