Monday, Feb. 04, 2002 @ 5:47 pm
grape juice and crackers?

Well, we went to my boss' wedding. I knew Jeff didn't really want to go. I wanted him to meet some of my coworkers, and to drive. The directions were a little iffy. We left about 20 minutes late, but ended up getting there in time.

The ceremony was very religious, with sermons interspersed, a hymn (which we were asked to stand and sing along to), and the bride and groom partaking in the lord's supper. My eyes were rolling uncontrollably. I was about to stand for the hymn, but not sing. Jeff just sat there, so I did, too. We did the same when the couple left the church, though we should have at least stood for that. When the lord's supper was mentioned, I though, "Oh, no. Please don't let them expect all of us to participate in that." Luckily, they did not.

Part of the sermons that were included was about Adam's rib and how the wife is at her husband's side, while the husband is the "leader" of the family. I don't know how Jeff felt about it, but I'm the leader of our family. I pay all the bills, make most of the decisions, research financial info, etc. He of course has a say and makes contributions. It's not like the Baptist ideal of marriage reversed. It's more like I handle all of that by choice, and he prefers to not do it. We are our own people. No one leads the other. The whole thing made me slightly unconfortable. Jen's Methodist wedding was half as long and only included the usual stuff (candle lighting, vows) and one prayer. I could handle that much easier.

Anyway, we stayed at the reception long enough to partake in the dessert table, drop off our gift, and talk to my coworkers for a few minutes. I didn't feel comfortable pushing my way through to say hello to the couple, and Jeff was getting antsy, so we left. I think we were the first people to leave. I also felt a bit uncomfortable about Jeff being the only one in jeans and sneakers, but that was not our problem. I was not about to buy Jeff dress clothes just to wear to this wedding.

I don't know if I'll ask Jeff to go to any more weddings. I just thought maybe he'd be okay with it. He didn't exactly complain while we were there, but kinda pushed me to go say hello to the couple so we could go. His being antsy made me antsy. I told him, "Would you come on?!" when I started toward the door and he stood there hiding in the corner. I'm not sure if anyone saw or heard this. He drove home like a bat out of hell thinking I was mad at him. That wasn't exactly the case. I guess I was just impatient or something. He seems to take things out on my car.

Leigh and I later chose 3 possible hotels for Charleston. Two of which have microwaves and fridges. We figure the complementary breakfasts won't be anything we could eat, so we'll bring breakfast and snacks. She called to check the hotels out, and we decided on one. It's not downtown, so that may change before we go. I'd like to be as close to walking distance to everything as we can be.

Enough for now.




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh