Monday, Dec. 17, 2001 @ 5:44 pm
beaurecrats at work

So, this week is my last week at work this year. We are allowed to wear jeans. YAY! I am strictly a jeans girl (men's jeans, by the way). We dress business casual usually, but even that's dressier than I'd like. I can be comfortable this week. No pantyhose!

In a few minutes we're having our "grab a gift" game. That's where we all bring a gift, draw numbers, and the person with the highest number gets his choice of an opened gift or an unopened gift. In other words, you can swipe someone's gift. We did limit it to a gift can only be swiped twice. It got ugly without that stipulation. I bought a wooden picture frame/picture holder thingy. It has sort of hanging file type photo albums inside, and a 4x6 frame in the lid. Kinda neat. I almost kept it for myself.

Update - I got cookies. I couldn't get the Godiva chocolates. Oh, well. There were entirely too many girly frou frou gifts. The gifts were supposed to be unisex, but end up being candy dishes, cookie jars, candles, etc. No "men" gifts, as Rick put it. I agree. I don't like all that frou frou stuff. It reminded me of the last christmas I went to my Granddad & step-Grandmother's. She gets everyone the crappiest gifts imaginable. My husband, who was 30 at the time, got a millenium countdown hat. Wha?!?! I got a ceramic bell with pink flowers on it. That just shows no thought at all went into it. I absolutely abhor the color pink, or (almost) anything flowered-y. I was pissed when my Dad and uncle got pocket knives. Dammit, I wanted one!

See, I put a lot of thought into my gifts, whether they cost $1 or $100. I guess I can't expect that of everyone. I got my husband one of those visor CD holders to go with his stereo/speakers I'm getting him for his truck. He has to pick it out, and we'll probably wait until at least after christmas. I got the holder just so he'd have something to open. Though, I already have my gifts from him.

I'm still not sure of our plans on christmas day. On christmas eve we'll be going to my Dad's. I hope it's not tense. They say they're working things out. But then, the next day we usually go to SC to see Jeff's family. That's a lot of driving. Jeff suggested going to SC the Saturday before (this Saturday), but our xmas party is that night. The friends I've had since high school (thanks, Karen) all get together and play the same game we do here at work, but with gag gifts. It's pretty funny. We also all bring some type of food. I know Leigh will bring a vegan dish. I'll definitely bring a vegetarian dish, but would like to try to bring something Leigh can eat, too. Usually, she can only eat what she brings.

At lunch today, we're going to some restaurant in the Marriott down the street. The Monday menu is BBQ ribs, fried chicken, collard greens (mmmm), mac & cheese. But, there's also a buffet and a desert tray!!! I'll just eat dessert. Actually, the buffet will probably be okay since there'll be salad & stuff.

Update - what a disorganized buffet. It was like the bermuda triangle. I had salad, mac & cheese, greens, a potato, then some sort of chocolate pie and baklava for dessert. Mmmmm. I'm full. Can't even think of the cookies I have in my desk.




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh