Friday, Feb. 24, 2006 @ 7:56 am
a bunch of nothing

More cartoon outrage.


After a frustrating visit to Lowes on Sunday, we ordered new shower doors from Home Depot. See, it seemed the only doors I could get at the right height and width range were the higher end ones with clear glass and frameless doors. That exposed glass edge looked like an accident waiting to happen, and I have already adamantly refused clear glass. The ones they had in stock were the ugly, bare bones, rough edge builders bulk ones that I refused to get. I don't care if we're just trying to pay the minimum to fix up the place, I was not gonna do it. So, Jeff got irritated, I got irritated, and my back was hurting, and I had shit to do...luckily Home Depot was more helpful. This is usually not the case. So here's where we are on that bathroom:

- Replace sink and faucet. DONE
- Replace shower doors (ordered), knob over and shower head (ordered), and drain cover.
- Replace molded sheetrock above shower with mold resistant boards and cover with splash guard.
- Install ventilation fan.
- Paint walls, ceiling, window, trim, door, and cabinet.
- Replace cabinet hardware, towel rack, toilet paper rack, etc. (Purchased when other bathroom hardware was purchased. Light fixture too, which is already in place.)
- Replace flooring. (Purchased enough when we did front bathroom.)
- Replace window shade (purchased to block out light and heat in summer) with something that breathes and does not trap moisture against window. (It gets mold on it, and we want to discourage that in every way we can.)

Yep, moving right along at lightning speed. Bored to tears yet?


Eww.

"Carbon monoxide masks the natural coloration of meat by reacting with myoglobin in the meat and producing a bright red color," the Consumer Federation of America and the group Safe Tables Our Priority wrote last month in asking the FDA to reverse its acceptance of the practice. The artificial color, they said, "has been found to last beyond the time of spoilage, thus masking the true color and freshness of meat packaged with carbon monoxide."


Sick fuckers.


From Dream Moods:

To see a snake or be bitten by one in your dream, signifies hidden fears and worries that are threatening you. Your dream may be alerting you to something in your waking life that you are not aware of or that has not yet surfaced. The snake may also be seen as phallic and thus symbolize dangerous and forbidden sexuality. The snake may also refer to a person around you who is callous, ruthless, and can't be trusted. As a positive symbol, snakes represent transformation, knowledge and wisdom. It is indicative of self-renewal and positive changes.

From Sleeps:

A snake, being the ages old symbol of evil or satan, makes it a bad omen to have one show up in a dream. To see a lone snake and feel threatened by it shows that you have a bad enemy that is even then working against you, it also a warning against bodily harm from an enemy. To dream of many snakes in a pit is the foreboding of much bad luck in love or business. Should you overcome and kill a threatening snake in your dream shows that you will overcome your adversary and win out.

This one's all over the place.

And then the one I have at home said something about different threats based on the scenario of the dream and the number of snakes. It mentioned that if it was a cobra, something really bad that I can't remember right now. One was about accidents, which was not pleasant to read before leaving for work in crappy weather, and with more traffic because I left later than normal.

It was really a sort of orange snake, and it was trying to get to me. I was holding it toward what would have been toward the end of its body, but it was so long that I wasn't even halfway down it. It was kind of at an arms length, then. I didn't kill it, and it never bit me (that I can remember), both of which could affect the interpretation. Or perhaps having a snake in my house or watching Animal Planet makes this one irrelevant.

(Last night I dreamed that we lived in my Dad's old house. That's probably because I was looking up his old addresses before I went to bed.)


I found out that my sister's court date was postponed until the 1st. Still haven't heard from her. I don't want to call her and hound her about it. Might seem like I'm too anxious for her to do it.


I'm struggling with the urge to join eDiets, do the Special K Challenge, this plan, this plan, or something.


Reading: magazines - Herbivore, bitch
Listening to: Dead in Love - Desert Sessions 9/10


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh