Wednesday, Dec. 21, 2005 @ 4:58 pm
fatty liver

The last picture taken before he brought the pain.

Small package, big hate.

I want my mommy.

So what are you trying to say?

Dude, that's some good shit.

These never get old.


So Buzz could have been in my back yard all along. We looked for him the day we noticed him gone and several times after that, including under the shed where we found him. The cinder blocks are staggered, so I guess he could have kept moving or got into a blind spot when we looked under there (or been in myriad other hiding places). We left the bedroom window, which is near the shed, open at night in case he meowed for us until it got too cold to do so. I feel so bad. I hope he's ok. I left him at the vet. He appeared to weigh 9 lbs (down from 15), but he wouldn't be still on the scale. Wow. Given that weight loss, his age, and his previous medical issues, they are doing some bloodwork and cleaning him up for me. They're also going to check that abrasion on his leg, which the vet said looked to be an old would that had scabbed over. He said we'd need to keep him isolated for a week just in case he caught a cold. AIDS is a guessing game because it might not show up for months. It can be transmitted if the infected cat bites another cat, but not vice versa. I can be optimistic because Rufus checked out ok when I brought him in.

Not sure what will happen with him and Rufus. He's is already acting pissy just smelling Buzz on me. I hope isolating him and letting them get used to each other's scent will help. Thea will hiss and snort, but that's just what she does. Baby's not bothered as long as her bed and her food are not disrupted.


Just got off the phone with the vet. He was not dehydrated, but some of his liver levels were elevated indicating 'fatty liver.' (Otherwise, his bloodwork was ok.) He said that when a cat goes into starvation mode, it begins to rely on the fat stores. But then it can mobilize the fat faster than the liver can process it resulting in this condition. I honestly don't think he'd have made it much longer. He said that if he continues to have a good appetite and begins eating again, this will probably correct itself. (He's never had a problem with his appetite, and he did eat a bit last night and this morning.) He's getting an antibiotic just in case because they found more injuries on him during his bath. I'll pick him up this afternoon and go from there. I'm so happy he's back.


Reading: various magazines - currently Health and bitch
Listening to: evening news


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh