Monday, Oct. 17, 2005 @ 4:46 pm
financial rambling

Jeff walked up to me last night and said, "Didn't you say something about needing some cash?" Why yes, yes I did. And then he handed me some cash. See, we've been talking about finances, refinancing, interest rates, etc. I pay about an even amount of the bills from each of our accounts. His account, however, has the extra cash from the HELOC draw. Mine is usually almost emptied* twice a month before I get paid. This is partially because I don't have that cushion of extra cash, and partially because I am always trying to pay down the Visa. I use it for online purchases mostly (supplements, ebay, whatever), and sometimes when I don't have enough in my account for something (or want the extra consumer protection for whatever reason). I don't know, it was just unusual. I'm always sure to be fair in our purchases and bill paying, so I hardly ever ask him for cash. And I didn't yesterday. In other words - bills and other expenses are split, personal stuff is not (i.e. books & CDs, Ebay stuff, supplements, clothes I buy, tools he buys). (We are going to have to discuss the xmas shopping, though.) We did have a conversation about the HELOC without either of us getting frustrated. I think he's leaving it up to me, as usual, to make the decision on what mortgage company to go with to refinance (and to replace the Visa). I just try to go over everything with him so he doesn't feel like he's not in control or in the dark (as I have in the past - just sign here).

I'm just having trouble deciding on a mortgage and credit card company. For the mortgage, I don't feel right going just by APR. How do I know if these companies are, I don't know, trustworthy? Is there a rating system? I could look them up with the Better Business Bureau, but they would just be 'satisfactory' if no complaints have been made. Who's to say people will formally complain? I could go with my SIL's company, which is well known and legitimate, but the rate is slightly higher than the lowest available. And the credit card - do I go with my credit union, where the rate is not that great, but ok, but I am fairly comfortable that the rate will never increase on their whim? (I've had my current card with them for 10 years with no such increase. Each of the cards Jeff has had in just his name pulled that shit on him.) Or, do I go with a low intro rate, lower fixed rate with a company that could jack it up to 19% like those assholes at First USA and Citibank Mastercard?

*By emptied, I mean less than $200. I start to get nervous at that point.


I went ahead and ran some shopping errands so I didn't have to do it next weekend, when I might be hanging out with Danielle. I didn't want to drag her shopping again, though I still might if that's what she wants to do. I'm still debating what to do about her birthday. I'll probably mail her a card, because in general I think that is a nice personal touch. I may get her a little something, but I'm not sure what to get or if I should let her pick out something. Something small.

Anyway, when I say shopping errands, I mean going to multiple stores for various things I need to get that the usual stores I go to do not have. For example, my Bare Minerals Mineral Veil, which is now carried at Ulta so I no longer need to trek to snooty Lenox Square. And photo paper, and I finally found Goody StayPut head bands after wasting a few dollars on other hair bands that would roll and pop right off of my head. Damn is that annoying when I'm working out.

I'm going to walk the dog now. Did I mention I walked him around the block twice last week and no one threatened to kill him? Yeah. How about that.


Reading: The Da Vinci Code - Dan Brown
Listening to: the mailman stopping at my box - 'bout damn time!


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh