Tuesday, Jul. 26, 2005 @ 5:42 pm
kidneys and computers

Why?


Jeff asked me yesterday what the difference was in the 9100 and the $300 PC (2400, probably). First of all, it says 'entry level.' No way. I just told him it was upgradable, more RAM, more hard drive, monitor, blah blah blah. His friend Chuck then translated it into an automotive thing involving 'chassis' and 'low end.' Heh.

I found out that the tax holiday is pointless for me, since they don't have a retail store in GA, thus no tax will be charged anyway. Now I'm trying to time all of the deals - free memory upgrade, 30% off coupon, $35 off coupon, etc. I have to do something by 7/31, though, when the 30% expires. It's almost like watching the stock market.


From Feline CRF Information Center:

Many cats who were in extremely serious condition when first diagnosed have lived with a good quality of life for months (and even years) after diagnosis because their condition was treated aggressively...

Chronic renal failure does not progress at the same rate in all cases. In some cases, the deterioration is fast, in others it can be quite gradual. You cannot know how your cat will respond to treatment unless you try.

As CRF progresses and toxin levels rise, cats become more uncomfortable with an overall sensation of feeling unwell. Human patients with a similar condition don't report "pain" but describe their condition as feeling poorly. Dehydration, in particular, can make the patient very uncomfortable. Aggressively treating CRF, especially with subcutaneous fluid therapy, should not be thought of as "prolonging the agony" as there is no significant pain associated with kidney failure until the end-stage. Even then, unless the patient convulses, the chief symptoms will be malaise, weakness, nausea and discomfort.

Jeff stopped on Animal Planet last night, which he's tried to avoid since Thor's death*. It was an episode of Animal Precinct, and some type of boxer, pit bull, or Staffordshire mix was emaciated and taken from an owner. He was brindle. I went to the kitchen for a minute, and came back. Jeff wiped his eyes on his shirt and turned the channel. I asked, "Can't watch that?" He said, "Still." It's been 3 years. I'm going to be a mess as Baby's health deteriorates. I'm going to eventually have to make the decision to euthanize, and I'm not sure I can handle it. Will I want to be in the room? It would be a comfort to her, maybe, but I'd be haunted by the images until I die. (And this is where I stop because I can't do this at work.)

I guess I should be thankful that I have notice, so to speak, instead of a sudden death like Thor's. And I think I'm more emotional than usual, since I'm about to have a visit from Aunt Flo. Maybe not. I've had Baby for 14 years, since about 6 months after we got married. She's family, and always a joy to see when I walk in the door. (Dammit, there I go again.)

*I'd link the entry, but my entries from January 10, 2003 and back aren't showing up. My tech support request is in the queue, like the one I entered months ago. I'm sure they'll get right on it.


Reading: Everything She Ever Wanted - Ann Rule
Listening to: nothing


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh