Monday, Jul. 11, 2005 @ 5:04 pm
vacation, my ass

We left Wednesday morning for Jeff's mom's house. Let me tell you, one night there is enough to be bored out of your mind (nothing against his mom). Jeff occupied himself by going through boxes of his Dad's belongings, mostly rifle shells and reloading equipment. I occupied myself by looking through his many shelves of books, a lot of which I'm told he never even looked at. I found several old ass Spanish dictionaries and instruction manuals. I spent the most time looking up obscenities in the dictionary, though the grammar and pronunciation guides were interesting as well. I said, "This one has 'Grammar' on the front of it, so you know it's a book for me!" I also had a couple intimate chats with his mom while Jeff was playing with shells or asleep. She told me about leaving his Dad, and a few other incidents. She has been through a lot.

The remnants of Hurricane/Tropical Storm/Depression/Hissy Fit Cindy came through early Thursday morning, and I awoke around 5am wondering if I'd remembered to close the window in Jeff's truck. I'd left it cracked a bit the night before when we made a jelly and jam run. (Mmmm...blackberry preserves.) I couldn't get back to sleep anyway, since the ancient phone in there chirped every time lightning struck. I got up to go read in the living room. I saw that it wasn't raining, and checked the window. It was closed. I'm such a freak.


We left for Charleston that morning in more rain which we eventually drove out of in place of 90 degree heat and humidity, which is what we had there until Saturday morning when we left. The Days Inn we stayed in was the same one Leigh and I stayed in a few years ago. Back then we had a room with a fridge, microwave, and interior door. It was pretty nice, if not fancy. It took me a while to get over my confusion, but the nicer rooms and large lobby are now replaced with a touristy, over-priced restaurant. We ended up in a sort of crappy room. I wanted to cry when I got there. After the parking issues (see below), and the room, I felt like I was responsible and was really disappointed. Jeff didn't seem to be as bothered, though, and tried to stay upbeat so I wouldn't feel so let down.

We didn't go many places because Jeff didn't want to have to drive his big ass truck around there. It barely fit into the parking deck! I had to get out and watch to make sure he didn't scrape the cab roof on the ceiling. (I also had to run back and forth as he attempted to turn around in the full parking lot before checking in.) And then it stuck out about 2 feet, so we worried someone would hit it. When the lot in front of our room emptied the next day, he moved it.

Surprisingly, Jeff took an attitude of, "Well, if someone hits it, we'll just get it fixed." Having grown up with my Dad, who is very particular about his vehicles (and everything else), I was expecting him to be in a pissy mood until it was rectified, but he wasn't. Granted, I have some of my Dad's tendencies, but not as extreme. I didn't freak out about my dented fender, except to rant on a message board and here. Anyway, I was impressed. This is his first new truck, and while he is particular, he won't fret over something he can't control or change at that very minute. Unlike me.

That day we just walked a bit, went to the market for a little while (all the stores were closed or closing), then walked down King Street until we found the Mellow Mushroom. After dinner, we found a Harris Teeter and went there to get bottled water, and an Amy's black bean burrito (for later) and beer for me.

We walked around a lot on Friday and I thought I would pass out. We forgot to bring water with us, so we stepped into air-conditioned stores every so often. We went back through the market, then ate at Atlanta Bread Company. After that, we walked all the way down Meeting Street to the Battery, where there's a park and it's on the water. We then walked back up King Street, which is where I thought I'd pass out. Sweat is running off of us. My hair is puffing up into an afro. (No welcome kitties this time, Leigh.) I was worn out by the time we got back to the hotel. I felt dirty and icky there in the A/C in my sweat-drenched clothes. There's nothing like wet Levi's shorts to make you feel clammy. After some half-assed searching and discussion, I ended up eating my leftover pizza. Jeff went by himself to get a burger at the over-priced touristy retaurant. He said it took an hour and a half in all even though they weren't busy at all.

Despite the crowds and heat (and not many veg friendly restaurants), I just love that town for some reason.


We went back to his mom's Saturday morning (so he could pick up his Dad's golf cart, which he'll be using at the shop or selling - mainly to get it out of his mom's way), and then back home - 3-4 hours each leg. Lots of driving in the rain. So, it was no longer than the weekend trips I've taken with Leigh. Disappointing, but it was fun to just hang out together.

I'll have to make my visit to AL some time in August. I already had to get people to cover for me last week because I'm on call this month (and my backup was also out of town). No one minded, though, since we don't get that many calls...and I couldn't adjust it because Jeff's shop was closed.


Jeff's friend Chuck had come by the house twice a day to let the dog out and feed everyone while we were gone. He had Jeff's cell phone number in case anything happened. He and Filo had tracked in some grass and dirt, so he vacuumed. That probably happened when he cut our grass. Geez, talk about above and beyond! We didn't even bring him back anything. (We planned to buy his mom and Chuck some fudge, but it was $15 a pound!)

OK, this is getting to be too long.


Reading: nothing
Listening to: Gin & Juice - Snoop Dogg


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh