Friday, Dec. 17, 2004 @ 10:10 am
can I borrow your towel?

We made it back from SC in one piece. Traffic was awful all damn day. We left the house at 7am and it took us an hour to get to 85. When we finally stopped to get gas and water, my abdominal muscles were cramped. I'd been riding white-knucled and tensed up due to all of the idiots on the road. Other than getting a little close to people, Jeff's driving didn't bother me. He'd run up on someone doing maybe 50-60 mph in the fast lane who refused to move. All but one of those idiots would be talking on their cell phone, not using hands free. Then there are the people who start changing lanes right beside you without looking first, then jerk and nearly lose control when they do finally see you. With all of the idiocy and the sheer volume of people, it was quite nerve-wracking. Hopefully xmas day will prove to have light traffic as it has in the past.

The service was relatively short. One of Jeff's aunts wrote a short narrative that the minister read aloud. It was basically a timeline of the uncle's 72 years. Jeff and I both learned things about him and the family that we didn't know, like the fact that they lived in Utah for a while when Jeff's mom was a baby. Jeff's grandfather was a tenant farmer on the land in SC, then eventually bought it himself. It is parcelled out to the kids in pieces, and Jeff's mom recently built a house on hers. His uncle was in an accident at 18 and was in a wheelchair until his death at 72. He was eventually able to drive again with a specially fitted car, and owned a jewelry and watch repair business. He repaired many a watch and clock for me. He even repaired my Dad's GM clock for him at one point. Aside from the holy holy aspect of everything (and my starch-a-riffic lunch), it was an interesting and somewhat pleasant experience.


I had the strangest dream last night. I think I was on some sort of show like the 0zzfest thing, and I ended up in a group with J0sh H0mme and another guy. We had 24 hours or something to write a song. It was so bizarre. Of course my twisted mind added him walking around wrapped only in a towel at one point. Ahem.

Added: I forgot to mention a few weeks ago that I had a dream that J0sh and I were on vacation somewhere doing tourist-y stuff. Another strange one.


I'm done shopping, except for Jeff. There's not really anything I can get for him because he either already has it, or it's too expensive. I may do something more substantial, like a massage (until my hands cramp up, anyway) or helping him with something on his long to-do list (or doing it myself). No, it's not a honey-do list. I had nothing to do with it. It's mostly stuff around the house or on his truck. I'll think of something.

I'm going to get the last massage on my gift certificate today, and re-up with another one for xmas. Jeff wrote me a check to take to her, since he didn't want to go to her house. I can understand. I made him go to the salon when we got them there. I'm sure he was uncomfortable standing there in his work clothes with all the girly girls (in other words, more girly than me).

Saturday I'm going to my stylist's new salon to get my hair did. I'm hoping I can preserve the fabulosity until missleigh's party on Sunday night. I just wish I could have washed my car this week. I hate going to see my friends or family with a filthy car. I cleaned out the inside the other day, and it was fucking COLD. I can't imagine adding cold water from the hose into the mix. I'm extremely tempted to pay someone.



Reading: The I-5 Killer - Ann Rule
Listening to: Fast Lane - Bilal


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh