Monday, Dec. 13, 2004 @ 6:04 pm
pussed out casserole-tastic

Dude. You can always get a new ring!


Well, I pussed out. After having a bad feeling (or was it paranoia?) about the area and the time of day I'd be going to my sister's adoptive mother's house and then to the airport to pick her up, I asked my coworker if he knew anything about the area. He said not to leave my car there when we picked her up, and that the area was 'a little rough.' Well, ok. I'll just meet them on my side of town, thanks.


We're going to SC tomorrow for Jeff's uncle Billy's funeral. Fun fun fun. He said he's worried he can't control himself if one of his aunts makes any comments. She was living in NJ for years and years and was supposed to help in caring for Jeff's Grandma before she died. She did nothing. Now, she's here with her husband living in the house that grandma and Billy lived in. Billy was moved to a nursing home right before she moved back, I think. Now, Grandma is one thing, but I can understand with Billy. It's hard work and takes a lot out of someone to take care of someone who is paralyzed and confined to a wheelchair. The main reason they moved him was because no one could lift him from the bed to the chair and vice versa when he started to lose the strength in his arms to do it himself. I don't know the whole story, but she does come across as selfish. I have a hard time not thinking about what I know when I'm around her, but who am I to judge? Jeff expects her to start immediately with wanting Billy's things out of the house now that he's gone. And I told him that whatever he thought, tomorrow would not be the time to say anything. He said someone may beat him to it, anyway, if only to tell her to shut the hell up.

I don't think he wants to go (and I certainly don't), but his mother's having a hard time. They've been here since before Thanksgiving for his dad's hip replacement surgery. He had some complications, including a mild heart attack during initial recovery and was in ICU for a while. He's in a rehab facility now. Anyway, his mom is just tired. She's been staying with his sister, and I've been emailing with her a little bit. When I asked what I might could get her for xmas, she said that she really just needs some support and a call from Jeff. She said he knew he wasn't one to be touchy feely, but just to call and chat would help his mom. So, I printed that email just so he could know what was going on without thinking I was nagging him. It worked, and he called her about 2 days later.

So yeah. A lovely funeral and lunch afterwards with a casserole-tastic spread. I'll enjoy the rolls and mac & cheese, and be told I'll lose too much weight (like after Grandma's funeral). Church is just a foreign landscape for me.


Reading: The I-5 Killer - Ann Rule
Listening to: nothing


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh