Thursday, Nov. 11, 2004 @ 10:24 am
self-analysis and avoiding jesusication

Maybe Netscape (aka Nutscrape) doesn't suck as much as I previously thought.


Ugly.
More ugly.
Even more ugly.
Even more ugly.
Ugliest.
Good fucking grief.


From Free Will Astrology:

Gemini Horoscope for week of November 4, 2004

For years, the walls of many public restrooms were inscribed with the graffiti, "A woman needs a man like a fish needs a bicycle." Recently, my Gemini friend Ross made it his mission to spread a mutated version of that meme. He has personally decorated scores of bathroom walls with the saying, "A Gemini needs emotions like a fish needs a bicycle." He thinks your tribe can function just fine without the messy complications that emotions bring. I disagree. Though you certainly don't need to wallow in the swampy tumult that some people seem addicted to, you do periodically require the humanizing effect of deep, mysterious, overwhelming feelings. This is one of those times.

Hmmm.


From Tickle.com:

Christy, you're 86% masculine

This is based on how you scored on a variety of traits that, founded on classic research and our own studies, are typically associated with men.

You're also 14% feminine, which is based on how you scored on traits that are typically associated with women. When we compare your results with other women it shows that you are somewhat more masculine than other women.

But what is gender identity exactly? A person's gender identity is defined by the extent to which they see themselves as masculine or feminine. Every person possesses both masculine and feminine qualities to some degree, however the extent to which each person has these qualities differs widely. While you were taking the test, we calculated your scores in 6 areas typically defined as masculine and 6 areas typically defined as feminine.

Whoa. I didn't think it would be that high. From my result email:

Women who are more masculine than feminine are most likely very accomplished or successful in their careers. They may not be as feminine as society expects � very often they're more focused on achieving goals than conforming to stereotypes.


Not much going on. I've walked the dog once more since the incident with the little punk ass kid, but didn't see her again. I was thinking up possible responses the whole way - "I think I hear your momma calling you." "Psh." "Filo, did you hear something?" "Want some pepper spray to go with that attitude?" Almost halfway around the block, there were two cop cars parked in front of a house. They were talking to the guy that lived there. Not sure what was going on with that, but it made me feel better anyway. One of them passed me on my way home. When I got closer to home, the two cars were parked in front of a different house. I wonder what that's about.

I made a comment about just getting off the treadmill to my stepmother. She said she doesn't like them, and I said, "Well, I don't really like walking around this neighborhood." She said, "I don't blame you." OK. Since we moved in here she has made comments like we live in a ghetto. We do not. Sure, it has gotten slightly worse, what with Jeff seeing crack dealers and little punk ass bitches threatening to kill my dog...but come on! So, I said, "Oh, it's not that! The kids just get on my damn nerves." I was hoping to take Filo's rotund ass out again today, but it's raining. I'm not sure he'd go for the treadmill, either.


OK, help me out here. I may be meeting my half-sister this month. Her mother held hands and prayed when we met for lunch for the first time. If the meeting involves a meal, how do I handle not participating in the Jesusication without making a scene or ruining a possible new family connection? And now I'm starting to get religious emails from her mother! Doesn't my stepmother send me enough crap?



Reading: Living Among Meat Eaters - Carol J. Adams
Listening to: White, Discussion - Live


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh