Friday, Nov. 28, 2003 @ 8:21 am
first kill

This guy's barking up the wrong tree.


I guess yesterday went okay. We left relatively on time at about 10:45. Jeff surprisingly got right up and got about his business of piddling around and watching Sportscenter without my nagging. It was I who took too long playing on the computer and changing clothes 15 times. I'm very picky about what I wear, I always want to be dressed appropriately or I feel wierd. My family seems to make this feeling twice as bad. I try to be perfect in front of them. I don't know why. My step-mother has been quite critical in the past ("You need a haircut!"), but she was ok yesterday. Not snappy at all, despite the heat in the kitchen and a couple small fires on the stove.

We ran into a backup on the interstate almost at the Alabama line. It was for a few miles, and we kept looking for flashing lights or something. We get up there and it was a wreck on the other side of the road. Motherfuckering rubberneckers. Not to mention the yucky rain and wind going on.

Some friends of the family (or some of my stepmother's family, not sure) were there. A couple and their two kids. They came in and immediately started showing pictures of the 10 year old boy's first deer hunting kill. I was surprised by how much this bothered me. I got really uncomfortable, and started moving around the house trying to avoid the picture and conversation. I ended up outside on the porch. Jeff could tell something was bothering me and asked what was wrong, but I didn't say anything about it. Dad sat down next to me after I'd come back inside and jokingly asked if I had seen the picture. I said, "No, I don't want to."

Maybe what bothered me most was how they were talking about how this was "not bad for his first kill" as if it's something to be proud of. Maybe if he were in an aboriginal tribe and this was his journey to manhood and providing for his family it would be.

Well, we left pretty early since Jeff had to work today and we wanted to get the tree up last night. It's very heavy and hard to deal with, so I wanted him to help me. I just have to finish decorating it today, and decide what else I'm putting out. I have some table top stuff, and another one foot tree that I put on top of the stereo cabinet. I don't need another tree, but I'd always wanted a little one for my room when I was a kid. I indulged myself a few years ago when I saw one at Eckerd for $10 or something.

So, I have to finish decorating today, and make mashed potatoes again for the vegan gathering at missleigh's tonight. I'm looking forward to it. No worries about what the vegetables are flavored with. Oh! Yesterday's meal was pretty worry-free. She told me as she was cooking what was in everything. It was usually just olive oil and some salt and pepper. I had lima beans (she knows I love them), mashed potatoes, green beans, dressing made with vegetable broth I'd given her, mac & cheese, cranberry sauce (homemade by my brother, Scott), and frozen collard greens I'd brought. She really should have put some broth in the greens. The oil, salt and pepper weren't enough. But my dressing was fabulous, and I have a few days worth of leftovers!

Alright, I'd better get to work.




Reading: Bitch - Elizabeth Wurtzel
Listening to: the quiet


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh