Monday, Jun. 09, 2003 @ 5:03 pm
no lead in the landfill

Apparently, our old ass security system has fried. For about a week, the motion sensor in the living room would beep almost constantly, like it was sensing movement. It could barely be heard above the TV, so it didn't drive me insane. Well, Friday the one in our bedroom started to do the same thing a little bit. The lights on the control panel went out sometime, but we didn't notice. Sunday morning around 5am, some part of the system started making a high pitched noise. Filo couldn't stand it, and woke Jeff up by whining in his face. Jeff unplugged the main power, which was plugged in in my office. That made the siren in the attic go off. It went off for about 10 minutes while Jeff found the backup power battery and unplugged it. What's amazing is that I slept through the whole thing. I'm such a light sleeper, even with the earplugs. So now I have a lead calcium battery I need to find out how to dispose of. Hopefully there's somewhere I can take it, like with the nickel cadmium cordless phone batteries.


I went to see my dermatologist this morning. He said I looked like a movie star. (Yeah, right.) He also told me this after I finished my round of Accutane in 1997. I told him my face is so clear that I don't know how to act. It takes so much less time to put on my makeup when I don't have to spackle, and I don't have to worry as much about how I look when someone comes over or if I go out in public (or if someone sees my face in daylight). We decided I might try taking one pill a day for most of the month, then 2 a day starting 10-14 days before my period. So, I guess that'd work out to be half the month if I continue a day or two after I start. I kind of do that for the week before with L-Tyrosine or B6 so I don't turn into a mood-swingy psycho. I'm to send him a copy of my bloodwork from my physical in August, and be sure to tell them I'm taking spironolactone.

My routine or rituals for trying to maintain clear skin is truly laborious. It involves flipping or washing my pillowcase once a week, only using towels or washcloths once, switching between the Proactiv and Cetaphil products depending on the level of oiliness/dryness (I can get flaky with only Proactiv, especially since I started the meds), putting my hair up when I put anti-frizz goo in it after showering, using separate products for my body (salicylic acid cleanser and lotion, and a scrubby cloth), changing clothes after working out or sweating profusely, not letting anyone or anything touch my face (including Jeff or traction equipment at the chiripractor's - though I have a hard time refraining)... I guess in this repsect my anal-retentiveness helps me.


Has anyone seen that show What Not to Wear? I watched it last night. I loved the lady on there. She had this accent that was just hilarious - "I like how youze did my hair." At one point she put a slice of pizza on top of her foot to illustrate how unnatural and painful those trendy boots can be - "This is my foot. This is a slice of pizza..." She also had more hair than me. About the same length, but bigger. Or should I say frizzier? (Sentence fragment, anyone?) Anyway, they give the subject of these shows $5000 to buy a new wardrobe. Do they know how many clothes I could buy for that? Geez, just look in my closet. I don't even think there's 5K worth in there, at least not what I paid for the stuff.

I won't even get on the subject of Wayne. He annoys me.


Were these two separated at birth?

Scott Ian of Anthrax:

Nick Oliveri of Queens of the Stone Age:

It could happen!




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh