Sunday, Jun. 08, 2003 @ 3:36 pm
beans and cornbread had a fight

Well, soup night went off without a hitch. Almost. Even though all the recipes I read in my crock pot cookbook say on low for 8-9 hours, the red beans in my soup were still slightly crunchy at 5pm. (Even though I soaked them overnight!) So, I transferred it all to a pot and cooked it on the stove. Problem solved. It was really good, too. Better than the first time. This time I added some oregano, salt and pepper, and remembered the bay leaves. The ingredients were vegetable broth, red beans, green beans, potatoes, corn, celery, carrots, just a few onion rings, and a little bit of diced tomatoes. Yes, I know I joined the anti-tomatoes ring, but once they're cooked they're ok. Oh, and I made my cornbread, which kicks ass, thankyouverymuch. It's better than at Soul Vegetarian.

So, missleigh and Ken both had two bowls. I guess if it was gross, they wouldn't have done that. Unless they were just trying to be nice. She brought some delicious strawberry cobbler and vanilla Soy Dream, and I made sweet tea. We laughed, we cried, we watched Panic Room. Eh. "It was a quite a time," huh, Ken?


Today I had to go get some new cross training shoes. The New Balance ones I have started giving me a blister on my left heel. I found the reason was some sort of bump or bulge there, that is not in the right shoe. I guess I've worn them out. It's not often I wear shoes out. Hell, I still have the yellow hightop Converse I got in middle school, as well as the Reeboks I wore at my first job at Little Caesers 12 years ago. There's even an old tomato sauce stain on them. They're still comfy, and I wear them to do yard work and wash the car.

What was I saying? Oh, yeah. So, I went to four different stores. It's a conspiracy, I tell you! The first place had one pair I liked, but no 6.5. Same deal with the second place, but they had a 6.5 wide, which was too loose around my ankle. The third place was a joke, and I didn't bother to look at anything. Sucky selection. I finally got a pair at the fourth place that was on clearance for $30. I couldn't tell what they were made of, or what they were for at any of the stores. They aren't marked all man-made or leather like dress or casual shoes, and it's sometimes hard to tell by looking. And it seemed that if a pair were comfortable or man made, no 6.5. Like, the 7 may have been to long, but ok otherwise. Geez. So I ended up with Avia. They may have some small pieces of leather. Fucking hell. Oh, and not to mention I was jumping, hopping, and running in these stores while trying the shoes on. They probably thought I was a wierdo. They'd be right.


That is all. I have to iron all my clothes and finish the grocery list. The shoe excursion put me behind schedule. (I really just wanted to get the rings entry off the index page.)




Reading: Reading - Animal Liberation ~ Peter Singer
Listening to: Listening to - Ode to Clarissa ~ QOTSA


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh