Sunday, Jun. 01, 2003 @ 5:58 pm
nightmares and shiny new appliances

I woke up Saturday morning around 4:00 from a nightmare. Yes, it merits "nightmare" instead of "bad dream." I was home alone. I vaguely remember I had let a man into the house to do dome sort of work or something. This is something I do all the time, whether it's for an inspection for my termite bond renewal (which is scheduled for this Friday) or pest control services, or whatever. I led him into the house and had my back turned to him. He grabbed me, and I swung around. (This was in the living room. My loaded gun was doing me no good in my nightstand in the bedroom.) He was saying crude things and forcing me to the floor. I remember I was trying to reach for his eyes, but he was holding my arms. That's about when I woke up, freaked out. From there on, I couldn't sleep. I kept opening my eyes and looking around. I kept thinking I heard something even through the earplugs.

It seemed so real, at least in the sense of how it made me feel. My heart was pounding. I looked over to make sure Jeff was still asleep beside me. I'm surprised I didn't scream or gasp or make some noise upon awakening. I'd have been embarrassed.

As I lay there, not able to sleep, I decided to find somewhere to take a course on self defense. I've wanted to for a long time, but have never had the time, money, or a place to do it. I'm just not confident I'd be able to handle a situation like that. Sure, I mentally know what I should do from various TV programs I've seen and articles I've read. But, would I be able to not panic and do what I need to do to survive? I just don't know. Is this a premonition, or am I watching too many of those shows on Court TV?

I'll have to call the ATA Karate Center to see if they might offer something like that. On another note, I also want to find somewhere to swim and play volleyball. Except for the weights and kickboxing, I despise working out. I need to find something I actually like to do in order to stay motivated. I want to look good naked or in a bikini, though Jeff thinks I already do. What does he know? He's just a bit biased.


We replaced the leaky, old, sucky-ass dishwasher. I think it was the original, making it about 13 years old. It had gotten to where I couldn't use powder detergent and had to basically pre-wash all the dishes before putting them in there. It was loud, and would leak under the cabinet and then under the litter box. If I put a towel there in anticipation, it would not leak. Bastard.

So, yeah. We now have a shiny, black, fancy schmancy new dishwasher. It has push button controls, an extremely quiet motor, a hard food disposer, anti-bacterial wash, delayed start...I don't know what else. I have to read the manual. Of course, anything else would have been better than the old one. I don't know if I can break the habit of pre-washing or at least rinsing the dishes, though. Hopefully next time I'll be on to less boring topics.




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh