Wednesday, Feb. 12, 2003 @ 5:53 pm
don't you know I'm loco?

Thump, thump, thump. I can feel a blood vessel on my forehead pumping. I may have driven myself close to a stroke this morning. I come in, and the plastic is still taped to the wall, a week after the hole in the wall was repaired. I ripped it down. Then, my network connection is down again - no mainframe, no intranet, no internet, no email, no network drives. I couldn't even sign in. Not to mention this is the sixth time this has happened since I've been keeping up with it. Twice in as many weeks. There is a room on the first floor they call the "TP Room" where everyone is connected. Apparently, my cable is in a place where it keeps getting loosened or unplugged. Their standard answer is "they did some work this weekend." Hmmm. That's just what the BellSouth guy said. No one can give me a satisfactory answer as to how to ensure this does not continue every fucking week. Get some wire looms or something, for shit's sake.


Not to mention this "project" I'm on at work. I'll try not to get into all the boring technical details. They've brought in contractors to test and help implement a new version of our middleware. The lady met with us yesterday. They are wanting us to write hundreds of "test cases" for each of the transactions in the group we're focusing on. Things like, what happens if I enter an invalid SSN, or shit like that. These transactions are already in production. They've been tested, retested, user tested, and approved. They are all working now. The problem is not on the application side, but on the system side. Fix the fucking JSP. How many times do I have to say it? I begged my boss to speak with someone, so we'll see. He agrees, by the way. It's a waste of time to go through this documentation and testing when it's already been done. OK, no one reading this knows what the hell I'm talking about anyway.

Anyway, I felt on the edge this morning, like I was about to burst a blood vessel, go postal, or something. I lost my appetite and threw away half of my bagel. I broke my mouse and almost broke the printer while slamming and throwing things in a rage. I guess no one in the conference room next door heard it, since my boss didn't mention it after the meeting. Good thing. I put in a Tori Amos CD to listen to today. QOTSA or Slayer might push me over the edge.


My half-sister, Danielle's adoptive mother has taken to emailing me every Monday morning. It doesn't bother me because she's keeping me posted on the progress of talking to Danielle's father about telling her she's adopted, etc. One thing that bugs me is the way she puts "prayerful" in place of "hopeful." I get an involuntary eye twitch when someone gets all holy holy. Yet, to be polite I submitted myself to an out loud pre-meal prayer in a restaurant just to be polite. I think next time I'll ask her to keep it to herself. Really. I don't have to deal with that if I don't want to. I'm dealing with enough shit already. Religious freedom means the freedom to choose to not participate, too, right?

Anyway, Danielle's father blew up when her older brother told him about me and that Debbie had met with me. He's very protective and feels threatened, like someone's trying to take her away from him. The next thing I hear about is that she was suspended for 3 days last week for cussing at one of her teachers. Her father thinks now is not a good time to tell her anything because of everything that happened last week. When would be a good time? I don't think there is such a thing. So, her brother says fine, he's not going to lie about it any more if she asks any questions. They think she suspects something already.

Whatever happens, happens. I can't control it. I told Debbie I was not anxious about it either way, and I think she may have taken it wrong. I just meant that whenever it happened, fine. If she wants to meet me, fine. If not, fine. I've got too much going on to fret about this.


Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh