Tuesday, Dec. 03, 2002 @ 6:42 pm
My annoyance and impatience have surpassed my stinginess.

I've given myself a new project. I'm going to upgrade my computer. I've decided to keep the old jalopy another year or two before plunking down that much cash for completely new stuff. I just hope my monitor lasts a while longer.

This involves increasing my RAM (again), saving all documents and MP3s to disk, and ensuring I have install disks or .exe files for all software I want to keep. I will then reformat my hard drive and install either Windows 2000 or XP, haven't decided yet. When I install the RAM, I'll also install an ethernet card so I can upgrade to DSL. I'm so exicted! As I told my stepmother on thanksgiving when she bitched at how expensive high speed internet is, "My annoyance and impatience have surpassed my stinginess." I'll probably go with BellSouth, since I didn't like the looks of the DirectTV DSL website. Dean, a guy at work who's helping me with this, talked me out of Cable. He said that they oversell to areas thus overloading the system. For example, as everyone gets home from work and turns on their TVs, my channels start to get wonky and pixellated, and sometimes freeze up. He said if my cable TV is funky, my internet would probably be, too. My husband says all they need to do is install more amplifiers to the lines, as they've done before. Screw it, I'm not fooling with them.

So far, I've determined that my HP scanner will work with either XP or 2000. Another guy at work can no longer use his off-brand scanner now that he has XP, so that was a concern. I'm looking into RAM now, trying to remember what I bought last year. Luckily Dean has been schooling me on all the nuances involved in this project. He even drew a diagram on a dry erase board of the hookup of the DSL modem, my PC, DSL router, etc. He even offered to help me install the RAM (which I think I could handle after having done it last year) and the ethernet card. I feel so ignorant about this stuff. I guess this is another example of having different computer knowledge. I know very little about DSL and routers, etc., but I'm a web developer and programmer/analyst. Dean knows very little about programming, but is a whiz at all this PC performance stuff. I should buy him lunch or something once this project is completed.


Aiight, some of you bitches gonna get a smack down.




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh