Thursday, Oct. 24, 2002 @ 5:27 pm
let's ask Filo how he feels about it

Good news. Jeff said he was probably going to leave Filo's ears and tail as is. In talking about it I had told him that at this point, I would not choose to declaw my cats. And that is true. Now that I know exactly what it is and what it entails, I would utilize some of the myriad alternatives. He said he didn't think so, "As soon as one of them scratched your couch..." I don't think that's true. I knew what declawing was before (6 years ago), but I was on the verge of a nervous breakdown after buying the house. I panicked.

Now I know of those things you can put over their claws, the types of scratching posts most appealing, how to make the furniture unappealing for scratching, etc. I regret having them declawed, but it does make play time less painful for me. Though we both wish they had claws to put Filo in his place a little more forcefully. They do hiss and smack him, but the claws would tell him that they mean it. And he's just confused as to why they don't want to play with him.

Filo is so funny. Our neighbor came over the other night, and Filo literally ran circles around him. He was looking up at us and his ears were flapping. We thought maybe he was trying to make our neighbor dizzy. I'm trying to get a picture of him either lying upside down chewing on his rope (with his ears flopped down), or running down the hallway (or wherever) with his ears flapping and tongue hanging out. That may be tricky.


So far I can tell no difference from taking the spironolactone. I peed a lot yesterday, but it's that time of the month. I always seem to rid myself of the excess water then. And it's not like I don't pee a lot, anyway. I drink probably at least a gallon of water a day. Didn't you all need to know of my urination habits?


I have a busy weekend coming up. I work from home six hours tomorrow, then have to clean house and do laundry, then have a massage, then have to try to catch the live chat with Tori. Saturday we have a vet appointment for Filo's third set of shots, then I have a hair appointment (just a trim this time, dammit!), then I may meet up with my brother if he's in town, then the Halloween party. Whew. Did ya get all that?

I'm looking forward to the party, except for one thing - Kellie said she got a smoke machine. Isn't it smoky enough in there when there's a party? I hope it doesn't make me sick. My throat has been dry lately. The antibacterial lotion can cause dry mouth/throat and a metallic taste, the Allegra causes dry mouth, the new stuff could contribute to that, as well as the drier air (since we turned on the furnace). I should take some lozenges.


James Dean seems to be much better. We got all of the dead skin off him except for what's on his belly. We've soaked him in warm water and Shed Ease 3 times, and peeled off what would easily come off. I had thought that him staying on his heat rock would dry up, burn, or otherwise aggravate his belly. The lady at the pet store said the same thing, and that ball pythons are "stupid about not getting off of their heat rocks." She suggested a skin treatment for irritated or infected skin, which I bought. She also suggested a heat lamp instead of a rock. But he hates bright lights. When we turn on the overhead light in there, he tucks his head under his body, or blocks it some other way. Luckily the bulbs are either like a black light, or red which he won't be able to see at all.


I just saw a travesty on the highway - a 1972 Cutlass that was painted Calamine lotion peach. Eww. I had a red one after we got married and loved it. I'd post a pic, but I'm too lazy. Maybe I'll update later.




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh