Wednesday, Oct. 23, 2002 @ 5:50 pm
Shopping, you say?

This ass-hat at work was in my office this morning and was commenting on my office-mate's eclectic taste in music. He said, "...and he sometimes listens to that heavy metal stuff that he knows I hate..." So what? The fact that you hate it makes it off limits to anyone? Fuck off, fat ass. I then put in some Iron Maiden just because he said that. Come to think of it, I used that to freak my Dad out when I was a teenager (and Motley Crue - funny side note: Jeff said he used to play "Bastard" when he was mad at his step-dad, Metallica, Black Flag, etc.). I'm still a metal chick at heart, despite my black soul. Hmmm, to think I listened to all that, and Doug E. Fresh and Slick Rick, and Run DMC. I was (am) all fucked up.


I'm now taking spironolactone. I can now spell it without looking it up, too. I did a lot of research on it yesterday. Here are some quotes:

"...cases of hormonal acne are related to increased local or peripheral production of androgens, usually at the site of the sebaceous gland..." which can cause excess oil production (acne), hirsutism (excess facial hair growth), and alopecia (loss of hair).

"Some of the older oral contraceptive formulations contained progestrins with androgenic potential..." I take an "old school" pill, but am scared to change to the newer "low dose" ones. I won't even take generic. Let's not fuck around with birth control, people.

"Another hormonal therapy used for acne is spironolactone, which is a diuretic with antiandrogenic properties...inhibits the effect of androgens at the site of the androgen receptor."

- www.acne.com

"Spironolactone and flutamide act by blocking the effects of testosterone (androgen) on the oil glands and hair follicle. It is the male hormone testosterone which triggers the acne. The result is a reduction in oil production and facial hair growth, and the improvement of acne and excessive hair growth."

- www.acnedoctor.com

So, I have too much testosterone? Figures. At least I didn't grow a beard. I'm worried about the diuretic aspect, though. It's not like I can afford to pee more often. They'll have to move my office closer to the bathroom.

I thought decreased sex drive was a side effect, but it was listed with a drug combination including spironolactone and another drug, not just the one I'm taking. Good. I'm just getting that back "up to par," so to speak. Though I thought women with decreased sex drives took testosterone to help, or was that topical? Maybe this drug doesn't actually decrease the hormone, but the effects on the skin, hair, and follicles. Fuck, I dunno. We'll see what happens in two weeks.


I'm not into Halloween or christmas this year. I don't know why. I went all out last year on my Clint Eastwood costume, so this year's was just kind of thrown together. And we've been spending so much money at Lowes that spending money on christmas is not a high priority. On Leigh Day 2002, we're going to some outlet stores and the Mall of Georgia, which I hear is so big it has duplicate stores and requires bread crumbs to find your way back out. And I love shopping, even if it's not for me. "Shopping, you say?" Well, let's go!




Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh