Monday, Oct. 07, 2002 @ 5:47 pm
Needy, furry (and scaly) bastards

I'm back at work now so I can relax. Whew. Not that I didn't already have enough to do, these damn animals are a lot of work! It started Friday - I worked from home until noon, ate lunch, and watched my soaps (shut up). Then I cleaned the house, started doing laundry, and bathed the stinky puppy (isn't that a punk band?). Thursday night, Jeff pointed out a potential problem with James Dean, our ball python. He had begun to shed, but had not removed much of the dead skin. It was still all over his head, eyes, and most of his body. In the 11 years we've had him he's always been lazy about shedding. He'll just get it off his head, then leave the rest. This time, he had some built up skin on his belly that really looked nasty. It looked like it could have been several layers, and was brown and icky. I could see his white belly poking through in spots, but was worried something was really wrong.

I did some research online, and found some potential problems and some things to help him along. The skin can build up and constrict blood flow to his tail and eventually cause it to fall off. The skin on his eyes can build up and cause eye damage and blindness. So, we went to two different pet stores Friday night looking for something suggested online called ShedEase. We were also looking for a branch or some driftwood for him to drag along and pull the skin off with. We'd been looking for a branch big enough for his 75 gallon tank for a while, but had never found one. We got him a bigger bowl so he might be able to get in it and soak, which will help hydrate him and ease shedding. When we got home, we diluted the ShedEase in warm water and let him soak for about 30 minutes. He liked it at first, but started getting pissed toward the end. Anyway, we were up until midnight or so.

Filo had a vet appointment on Saturday morning at 8:30. Why so early? Ask Jeff. He then went to work on missleigh's car, and I went to Kohl's and spent too much money. Then we went to get Jeff's cabinet. Yes, it's finally finished and looks good. I bet they were glad to see us leave. After that we drove all over town looking for a suitable branch and more ShedEase for James. I think we ended up going to 3 or 4 different pet stores. We finally found what we needed. We went to the mall since we were over there and ate at the Big Easy. Gotta love red beans and rice, collard greens, and cornbread. I then bought another pair of shoes, like I need more.

So, last night James looked like he had the skin off the upper third of his body, including his eyes. He looks so much better. But then he proceeded to shit thrice under his new branch after we'd cleaned out his cage Friday night. Scaly bastard.

And surprise surprise - we went and spent more money at Lowes yesterday. I know, you're shocked. We got the remaining supplies to remove/replace the vinyl in the front bathroom. Now if we could just find the time...

I didn't even have time to try on my Halloween costume options and decide which to go with. Damn needy animals. I was able to get some clothes ready for the consignment shop. I try to rid my closet of old clothes/shoes whenever I buy new stuff. Otherwise I'd have to buy new hangers or something.

------------------------------

And now it's time for Christy's Quiz Corner!!!

According to the SelectSmart.com Belief System Selector, my #1 belief match is Unitarian Universalism.
What do you believe?
Visit SelectSmart.com/RELIGION

Isn't that a catch-all religion? Hmmm.

-----------------------

Um, ok.



What Planet Are You From?


this quiz was made by The Autist Formerly Known As Tim

I think this is more accurate:



What Planet Are You From?


this quiz was made by The Autist Formerly Known As Tim

Did I post that last one already? Too bad.


Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh