Monday, Apr. 22, 2002 @ 5:26 pm
the bigot gene must've skipped me

I can't believe I didn't know about this Friday being a holiday. I didn't know until this morning when my co-worker asked me if I had plans for Friday. "What's Friday?" Confederate Memorial Day. Well, yeeeehaw. Guess my parents will be having a hootenanny or something. The latest on those two is that they're looking for a new house because their neighborhood is "getting blacker and blacker." Well, so what? I told her it didn't bother me. (My neighborhood is probably 50/50.) She said, "Well, it bothers me, especially when they drive by blaring their music." I said, "The white kids do that here." I've had more trouble out of my white neighbors than I've even heard a peep out of any black or hispanic neighbors. The white ones next door are the ones with chickens, a goat, a pen full of puppies, short tempers, and a penchant for 3am blastings of their stereo on a weeknight. Geez. And they just put in a pool. It just makes no damn sense. What are they going to do, hopscotch from house to house the rest of their lives whenever someone of color moves in? They can't afford a neighborhood that would be only white. And besides, as a black lady at work and I said, "Black folks got money, too." This makes me crazy. I dare her to say anything about this when Jeff and I look for another house.

Wow, that was a rant. I went on another one yesterday when Jeff asked me if I was going to take the rose bush stems I'd rooted to Barbara. I said, "Hell no, they're moving. I'll take them to her with a white hood." He just said, "OK, I'll give them to my boss's wife." He's learned to just let me get it out of my system and not take offense. Good thing, that. I guess that explains our almost 11 years of marriage.

-------------------------------------

So, my old high school buddy and I went to lunch and shopping Saturday. It was fun. We ended up having some heavy conversation topics - Andrea Yates, alcoholic/abusive fathers/boyfriends, the 10 year high school reunion. Well, okay, that's not exactly a heavy topic. We did decide to go together. I had told her I was not making Jeff go, but she really wanted her husband to go with her. She decided to let him off the hook and go with me. We agreed that we really didn't want to talk to anybody, but just sit back and watch people. Why talk to these people who we didn't even like in high school? We're probably going to shop for what to wear together, too. She used to do fundraising for Cystic Fibrosis, so she knows what is acceptable better than I would. I'm not that comfortable in dresses, so I think I'll just wear some nice black pants and a fancy tank top or sleeveless shirt. Gotta show off the tattoo, you know.

--------------------------------------

I'm saddened by the death of Layne Staley. He was a talent and an asset to an increasingly talentless music business. I remember going to see Metallica for the third or fourth time when Alice In Chains was supposed to open. Apparently drug problems caused them to cancel, and Candlebox was the replacement (much to my disappointment). I never got a chance to see them live, but always admired their music - especially Layne's unusual voice. Another one gone too soon.


Reading:
Listening to:


newest ... older ... notes ... guestbook ... profile ... rings
swaps ... surveys ... random ... host ... tori amos


The last five:
See ya! - Friday, Mar. 17, 2006
Where's the Excedrin? - Saturday, Mar. 11, 2006
don't even get me started - Tuesday, Mar. 07, 2006
I'm not mean, you're just a sissy. - Monday, Mar. 06, 2006
countdown to defection - Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006

CandB | Bitchypoo | Fresh Peth | Blazing Hussy | itsibitsispyder | Cosmo's | Leigh